Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Complete noobie can't even get the capture right !!

Default Complete noobie can't even get the capture right !!

Hi,

Googled to this site and am very impressed...lots of useful info, just what I was looking for...very helpful.

OK, as stated I am a complete noob to this area, in fact only aquired my first ever camcorder a few days ago.

Now, as my shiney new Canon MV750i has DV facility I wanted, obviously, to store my recordings onto DVD via my computer rather than hook up the camera to VHS with S-Video.

I thought this would be simple....what an oversight!?!

Forget fancy editing etc..that may come later...all I want to get right at this point in time is the capture.

The nitty gritty.....XP Home SP2 running on Athlon 2500+ using IEEE-1394 DVin built in to the mobo (Asus A7N8Xdeluxe). 512MB memory, 128MB ATI Radeon 9600 grfx. HD is 120GB Maxtor Diamondplus9 (7200rpm, 133, 8MB buffer) with 2 partitions C: approx 40GB and D: approx 80GB

Using D: to write my captured files to, which I defragged as recommended by this site (wasn't too fragmented anyway, but I wanted to ensure all bases were covered)....and I checked that DMS was enabled also.

I disconnect from internet, disabling my LAN connection, disabled Norton AntiVirus, firewall etc, disabled screensaver.....pretty much ensuring minimal background tasks are running as I normally do when burning CD and DVD.

Now my intention was to use Nero VisionExpress 3 which is part of the Nero 6 Reloaded package to capture film and then later I can trial the mpeg2 encoding facility and DVD writing facility of the Nero package.

But can I get a decent capture.....the h311 I can

I've tried Windows MovieMaker just in case Nero was at fault but no, results are similar.

Essentially, from the info from you guys I'm OK with the combing effect which is down to interlacing, which I understand will not be evident on DVD when played on standard TV display. So thats fine (acceptable)