Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Annoying quirk in Vegas MS Platinum 8

  1. #1

    Default Annoying quirk in Vegas MS Platinum 8

    Has anyone had this happen? While demonstrating Platinum 8 this morning (for a group of 20 students), I went to edit a title using the "Edit Generated Media" function.

    When I clicked the "filmstrip" on the text clip, the edit interface appeared to pop up then it instantly disappeared under the dock at the bottom of the main edit window. Where it is, who knows! I could re-load MS Platinum 8 but am hoping not to have to.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,847
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    This old chestnut comes up fairly frequently.
    You have inadvertantly dragged the generated media window off the screen.
    BUT ... how to get it back.

    I suspect it's hiding behind your Windows task bar. Try dragging that to one side and see if it's there.

    Holding down Ctrl and Shift when opening Vegas will revert EVERYTHING to factory settings (so beware of any defaults you have changed) However, also beware that this doesn't necessarily reset all the Windows (in dialog windows) positions so this still may not do the trick.

    Try this: Change your screen resolution within Windows. Open Vegas & open the Generated Media dialog. IF you can see it move it. Close Vegas. Reset screen resolution. Open Vegas again and all should be well.

    Now I've run outr of options, so I hope one of the above cures it for you.

    BTW demonstrating VMSP to 20 students? What level? What course? What forward thinking establishment?
    Tim

  3. #3

    Default thanks!

    Tim,

    Your advice about the Win taskbar worked perfectly.

    In answer to your other questions, I instruct video production as part of a nine-month Radio and TV broadcast program at a private vocational school in Canada.

    We have 24 licenses of Platinum 8 and two of 9.

    All computers are networked to a 3.5 TB video server. We went with the Vegas MS product on the advice of a former fellow instructor here. It's great for teaching video editing to groups with a wide diversity of interests and technical abilities.

    We also have one Mac running Final Cut Express, but we stopped teaching it. Now it is used strictly for in-house production.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,847
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ABCTV View Post
    Your advice about the Win taskbar worked perfectly.
    Glad to assist & thanks for getting back to me about your use of Vegas. It's heartening to hear the product is being used in education. Spread the word!
    Tim

Similar Threads

  1. Help! Sony Vegas Pro 9 Platinum,
    By kidflipp09 in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-30-2009, 08:45 AM
  2. Sony Vegas 8.0 Problem ( Very Annoying )
    By Wtfisthis69 in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-15-2009, 01:55 PM
  3. Need help. New user to Vegas Platinum 9
    By Russ52 in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-29-2008, 10:07 PM
  4. Error in Sony Vegas Platinum
    By IamNumber1 in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-11-2008, 08:56 AM
  5. rendering h.264 in vegas platinum 8.0d
    By dave_lynch in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-07-2008, 08:36 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •