Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: software doesn't recognize my firewire connected DV cam

  1. #1

    Default software doesn't recognize my firewire connected DV cam

    I have to say that I am new to video capturing, I got my Sony DCR HC 40E yesterday, connected it with USB cable, captured quality is horrible specially through the provided Sony software that is nothing but a waste of space. I connected it now with a fire wire cable, the camera realizes that it is connected, light flashing and says DV in, but my software can not recognize that it is connected, I tried Windows movie maker and Adobe Premier, no luck. Can anybody help? :cry:

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Is the firewire port you are using built into the motherboard or graphics card of your PC? There have been some reported cases of firewire ports such as these not working 'properly' and people have had instant success by fitting a cheap PCI firewire card. No promises, just a thought.

  3. #3

    Default

    thanks millsy for your thought, it worked .. the port I was using was on an external device connected to my PC . Now I got a firewire PCI card and my videocam has been recognized through that card and works fine.
    Cheers

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aelkady
    thanks millsy for your thought, it worked .. the port I was using was on an external device connected to my PC . Now I got a firewire PCI card and my videocam has been recognized through that card and works fine.
    Cheers
    My Mum always said I'd go far

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Birmingham
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Sorry to hijack the thread, but.......hhheeeellllppp....

    Millsy, if you get a chance, could you take a look at my post in 'software problem' forum concerning poor capture....

    Any chance my problem could be solved by a dedicated firewire card rather than the facility built into my mobo?

    I know 25 ain't a lot of money, if I were to get a cheap pci card, but I don't want to buy a new card if it's gonna be a pointless exercise.

  6. #6

    Default 15

    I got a firewire card and a free lead all fitted for 15 in about an hour at a small local pc shop.
    As far as i can see vid capture needs firewire if you want quality.
    Confused but getting there (I think)

Similar Threads

  1. Sony camcorder connected but not recognised
    By TobyB in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-26-2006, 09:35 AM
  2. PPro 1.5 does not recognize my Z1U. VLC works.
    By knowyouremeny in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-20-2006, 04:48 AM
  3. Software 2 view iLink (firewire) DV without 1st capturing
    By jsaonline in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-11-2005, 07:57 AM
  4. Computer does not recognize connection to camera
    By Ms. Divine in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-16-2005, 05:49 AM
  5. DVin - no wire connected
    By DirectOr in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-12-2004, 10:57 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •