Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Prem. Elements8: can't render as uncompressed AVI

  1. #1

    Default Prem. Elements8: can't render as uncompressed AVI

    I just installed the trial version of Premiere Elements 8. I wanted to test its ability to render high-quality avi files.

    I am able to play in, Windows Media Player, uncompressed avi files produced by other video editing packages; I wanted to see how Premiere Element's uncompressed AVI files compare.

    I took two, 7-second avi clips, put them into the timeline, and added a simple dissolve transition between them.

    Under the Share section, I chose Uncompressed AVI as the format.

    As my clips lacked audio, I specified that audio should not be rendered. I rendered the clips. It created a large (apx 400 mb) file. When I tried to play it in Windows Media Player (v11) I first saw a message saying, "Looking for codec" (or words to that effect), followed shortly after by a message saying "Codec acquired". But then I got a message saying that the file was unplayable, and was offered on online Microsft link to solve the problem. It took me to an audio-related page which seemed to be of no particular help.

    So I tried rendering as uncompressed audio again, this time specifying that audio should also be rendered (even there is no audio with my clips). I changed the sample rate from 48 khz to 44 khz, a rate I usually use with Windows Media Player.

    When I tried to view the result in Windows Media Player, I got no error messages. Instead I just got a black screen. I could see that a file was playing (the navigation slider at the bottom was moving, and the time counter was progressing) , but there was no image.

    What might I be doing wrong?

    I've used Premiere Elements 1 for years. But if version 8 cannot handle this very simple task, I won't buy it.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Western Europe


    Can you copy and paste the video and audio information in the settings dialogue box in your next post, so we can have a look at the settings you are using and maybe make some suggestions? It's difficult to say what is going wrong without the details.

Similar Threads

  1. Sony FX1 and Uncompressed Footage
    By Chummy in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-11-2010, 06:50 PM
  2. Uncompressed AVI to Tape.
    By conehillbus in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-04-2007, 08:08 AM
  3. Ripping DVDs in uncompressed AVI...
    By Marcus Schmuck in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-20-2007, 02:53 AM
  4. Uncompressed Frames Problem
    By Oni J. in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-22-2006, 10:06 PM
  5. Capturing uncompressed DV in Premiere 6?
    By bunghead in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-09-2004, 11:26 PM


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts