Thread: After Effects animation?

1. Default After Effects animation?

Hi all. I came here with some questions a little over a year ago and got some really awesome advice from all you wonderful people, so I thought I'd come to you again.

Ok, so I have After Effects CS4 v. 9. I'm still pretty new to it, but I know some of the basics (the extreme basics...) What I want to do is actually very simple, and there's probably a very simple way to do it, but it is eluding me.

What I want to do is this: I am making a video project about my grandparents' life stories, and one of the things I want to do is to have an Indiana Jones-style world map to show their travels, with the little airplane and red line trailing behind it , to show all the places they've been (they've both lived really fascinating lives and traveled very extensively.) Anyway, I am not sure how to accomplish this.

I already have my world map the way I want it. I downloaded maps of various continents, them put them all together in proportion in Photoshop the way I wanted them. This resultant map is, of course, pretty big. So, what I want to do now is zoom in on selected portions of this map, insert a picture of a little airplane, and draw a little red line trailing out form behind it, and animate the picture of the map so that it moves beneath the plane, creating the effect of the plane flying across the world.

Anyway, any help you all could provide would be greatly appreciated. And I apologize if I repeated myself or wasn't clear in what I wanted. I'm running on about 10 minutes sleep in the past two days, heh...

There are a few tutorials about doing this sort of thing.

Here's an After Effects Community Help search that pulls up a few, including this one from Aharon Rabinowitz.
    Todd Kopriva, Adobe Systems Incorporated
    After Effects Help and Support
    Premiere Pro Help and Support

Western Europe