Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Failed to initialise Video Capture Plugin - can you help me?

  1. #1

    Default Failed to initialise Video Capture Plugin - can you help me?

    Hi All, great looking forum you've got here........

    I'm new to video editing so be gentle with me! I have managed to succesfully capture and edit footage from my MiniDV 'corder using a firewire card and Windows XP MovieMaker. I've just installed ULead VideoStudio8 and keep getting the following message when I try to capture:

    "Failed to initialise the video capture plugin. Another program may be using it or it may have been moved. Failed to open the driver"

    I have 5 capture plugin options to choose from. The one I'm trying to use is Adaptec AHA-894x DV - I presume that this makes best sense with my MiniDV camera (this also seems to be the default). I can capture using some of the other plugins (DirectShow, MPEG etc) but the quality isn't great.

    Can anyone shed any light on this?.......cheers..............Sam

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,513
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    If you're connected via firewire, capture using DV.

  3. #3

    Default

    Hi Marc,

    Yep I'm connected via Firewire and want to capture using DV but ULead fails to initialise the Adaptec AHA-894x DV capture plugin.

    Kent eh..........I'm an old Maidstonian, used to live in Headcorn......

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    East Kilbride, Scotland
    Posts
    1,002

    Default

    The correct settings for capturing via DV are as follows,

    1. From the Tools menu select Device control and set the current device to MS 1394 device control, then click the OK button

    2. From the Tools menu select change capture plugin and set the Current capture plugin to ULead directshow Capture Plug-in then click the OK button

    3. Continue your project as normal.

    If this does not work then there could be a problem with support for your Adaptec card and I would suggest that you raise this with ULead support.

    Good luck

    COMPAQ something or other with 500Gb Boot Disk, 1Tb external Firewire Disk, 4Gb Memory and a super duper sound card, 19" TFT Monitor etc etc etc
    Sony TRV33e : Sony TRV310e : Canon XM2
    Sony Vegas Studio editions to v11

    Remember, there is always more to learn than there is to teach.

  5. #5

    Default

    Hi PureJammy - not on my home PC at the moment, but I'm sure I've successfully captured using the settings you mention below.

    If these are correct for capturing DV then I'll complete a project and see what the end result quality is like. Many thanks for your response!

    Sam

Similar Threads

  1. Failed Graphics
    By ciaranl in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 01-20-2010, 12:58 PM
  2. 'Premiere failed to return a video frame' problems exporting
    By Jimmy_Knox in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-25-2009, 10:14 PM
  3. Failed to return a video frame
    By Mark in SD in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-28-2009, 05:28 PM
  4. Cleaning noise-grain by Neat Video plugin via Virtual Dub
    By az0000000 in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-16-2006, 09:38 AM
  5. Premier 6 and TMPGenc and Video Server plugin Beta 2
    By oceanroad in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-18-2004, 11:27 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •