Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: AVIs audio only

  1. #1

    Default AVIs audio only

    I am a complete beginner with elements and I am trying to edit some AVIs that I made using my VIO headcam and when I import them they just appear as audio tracks. As far as I am aware AVIs are supported so can anybody tell me whats going on?
    Cheers

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    It sounds like you are trying to import mpegs. That Sony handycam you are using only records in mpeg format and Adobe Premiere Elements will not open the files correctly. You will need to convert them from mpeg to avi so you can work with the video files in Adobe Premiere Elements. There are lots of freeware converters such as MPEG Streamclip 1.2 (you need QuicktimeAlt1.81 aswell - download it first and run it), SUPER(c) and Handbrake are two other converters.

  3. #3

    Default

    Its not a handycam its a dedicated solid state headcam made by VIO and the files it produces are AVIs

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ENGLAND!
    Posts
    774

    Default

    Put the files through gspot media analyser and post the results.

    AVI is just a container, there could be anything inside them.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    Sorry, my mistake, I thought it was a typo.

  6. #6

    Default

    Ok downloaded Gspot and ran the AVI through it. Lots of stuff I dont understand but I presume its the video codec section you need.
    Says codec is XVID and name is XviD iso MPEG-4.

    Any help?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ENGLAND!
    Posts
    774

    Default

    Yes, alot

    Xvid is highly compressed and editing programs really don't like them.

    try converting them to dv-avi.

  8. #8

    Default

    Cheers mate, thank god for internet forums and gentlemen like yourself, without them, well I would never get anywhere with my computer

  9. #9

    Default

    Oh and does converting them result in a loss of quality?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ENGLAND!
    Posts
    774

    Default

    in all conversion there is always a loss of quality unless you are coverting it to a lossless format. the los of quality will be som miniscule, that you will not be able to tell the difference via the naked eye or in close inspection on consumer monitors.

    try it on a small clip first though

Similar Threads

  1. VLC can't play MovieMaker AVIs
    By Roger's Melly in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-06-2007, 02:18 PM
  2. Transparent AVIs in Vegas 6?
    By Bansaw in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-15-2006, 02:39 PM
  3. Why cant I important avis?
    By GrandMasterKaja in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-07-2006, 03:53 AM
  4. Making a subtitle option for .wmvs and .avis
    By GrandMasterKaja in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-21-2005, 09:32 PM
  5. ONLY advanced users.backup your avis and using them again
    By patjepatatje in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-29-2005, 12:40 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •