Thread: Vegas rendering problem: Video too small

Unhappy Vegas rendering problem: Video too small

Hello everyone!

I'm quite new to video editing, especially when it comes to Vegas and miniDV recording! But I just got a miniDV cam and I know how to import the clips to Vegas with Capture. I also know the basic editing techniques. But I just have this problem that I don't understand: I import or capture 720x576 video into Vegas and edit the clips but when I am finished and want to render the movie, the final movie is so small compared to the original clips. It's like a small video in the center of WMP when I play it. And it is set to show 100%. It doesn't matter which format I use and I've tried different settings. You can see what I'm talking about here:

Can anyone help me?? I would appreciate any advice.

Thank you!
    Gladstone Gander

Check you project settings are correct (see my site for tips)
    How do I select the right Project Template?

make sure you chose the correct render template, use MPEG 2 DV PAL

Hello!

Thank you very much for your reply. I've tried using the folder icon in templates to make Vegas check the right settings. It changed the template to widescreen and that was the only thing it changed. I tried using this template but when I render the movie with these settings it still looks wrong, it is still too small but this time it is too "squared" compared to the original so that everything looks like it is pressed together from the sides. So unfortunately this method didn't work :-( I really don't know why this happens.

I need to you to write out exactly what template settings you have for doing the WMV render.

I have just rendered to the default WMV setting and I am getting full frame in WMP. Nothing like you are getting. Somehow you ARE twitching the sizing. Has VEgas an ability to re-size to "small" when playing back? Are you previewing in Vegas or WMP?

Quote Originally Posted by Grazie View Post