Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: The Art of Movie Titles

Default The Art of Movie Titles

A point came up in another thread about tiles and the lack of useful information about how to make your titles look right for your movie. So I thought I'd start a thread about this subject and hope there will be some good contributions from those who have more experience than me.

I come from a printing and design background so I have some rudimentary knowledge about type faces (fonts) but when it comes to applying that to a movie title I am a bit lost.

A basic no, no when choosing fonts in graphic design is not to mix serif and sans serif fonts together unless you want to create a disturbing feeling in the viewer.

Example Serif fonts are Times, Palatino, Linotype, Georgia as you can see a serif is the little flick at the end of the letter stroke.

Examples of Sans (without) serif Arial, Century Gothic, Impact as you can see these don't have a flick on the end of the letter.

Another type of font is "Script" which as I'm sure you know is kind of like hand writing often used to impart elegance or quality.

This just scratches the surface of this subject and I'm sure you're already bored reading so far, so let's move on.

The artistic element of titles is about having the right look or feel for the subject of the movie. So, choosing the right font is important as it's often the first thing you see in the movie. It would not be right to have some sort of funky modern font flying around the screen for an historical drama. The aspect of choosing the font is down to personal taste along with choosing the right colour, moving or still etc.

I offer this as a start to the discussion of the art of movie titles.

Over to you.