Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Need help with the size of imported clips

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    40

    Default Need help with the size of imported clips

    Heyy everyone!

    I have recently switched from Windows Movie Maker to Adobe Premiere Pro (pretty big switch, i know)

    and a problem i have encountered on my first video with Adobe is the size of the finished product.

    I'm assuming this is related to the software.. since that seems to be all that has changed.

    The video when saved seems to be too small, and looks weird in the youtube player (contrary to previous videos made with windows movie maker).

    Here is a link to the video that i'm not satisfied with the size of (made with adobe):
    [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CuwbarpovCU]YouTube - T.Bone - "Because I Need You (Inner Demons)"[/ame]

    If it helps at all... on my video camera.. the setting is set to "TV Type: 16:9" .. i also have the choice of "4:3"

    Any suggestions for what could be causing this as well as how to fix it?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ENGLAND!
    Posts
    774

    Default

    What are your export settings?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    40

    Default

    heyy, sorry i'm not exactly sure what you mean by that

    here's what i did with Adobe Premiere Pro CS3:

    for my "New Project" settings, I set it to: Widescreen 48kHz

    then i imported my clips of video that i transferred to my hard drive from my camera

    now when i dragged them into the "timeline: sequence" (multi-track editing board), they were very small in the display screen, so I right-clicked the video and selected "Scale to Frame Size"... which helped to make it a bit bigger but it still doesn't fill the screen properly

    so then for "export settings" (i hope this is what you mean)
    i went File - Export

    and my settings were:
    File Type: Microsoft DV AVI

    Video
    Compressor: DV NTSC
    Color Depth: Millions of Colors
    Frame Size: 720 h 480 v 16:9
    Frame Rate: 29.97 fps
    Pixel Aspect Ratio: D1/DV NTSC Widescreen 16:9 (1.2)
    Quality: 100%
    Recompress: Maintain Data Rate

    Keyframe and Rendering
    Bit Depth: Use Project Settings
    Fields: Lower Fields First


    hope this is the information you need to help me solve this issue... if you need any more information please ask!

    thank you!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ENGLAND!
    Posts
    774

    Default

    this is strange.

    could you post a still image of the video and a screen print of the properties dialog box for your footage. (right click -> properties)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    40

    Default

    yes it certainly is :S lol

    please try to help me figure this out lol i really need to solve this so i can begin editing the new videos i've made!

    okay i took 3 screen shots: 1 of the video before being edited , 1 of the finished video (after being edited - with the problem), and 1 of the properties of the raw footage video (before being edited)

    Imageshack - 64674894.jpg
    Imageshack - 2finishedvideo
    Imageshack - 3properties

    on the picture of the finished video, i highlighted the issue in red... so as you see... (i think this is what the problem is at least) is that once edited and saved, the "entire video screen" has the video in it.. but then a large black border all around it which is included in the video for some reason

    thanks!
    Last edited by Tommie31; 10-07-2009 at 09:42 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ENGLAND!
    Posts
    774

    Default

    it looks like your camera does "fake widescreen" this is when the camera puts black bars on the top and bottom of the video to give the appearance of a widescreen video.

    all you can do in premiere is zoom the video in by 133%

  7. Default

    ok dude part of your problem is the YOUTUBE SETTINGS
    in order to get that 16:9 resolution and picture on freaking youtube, YOU MUST
    set your settings right
    1280x720 (when you export to movie in Premier)

    is the correct settings for youtube player to play a 16:9 video
    whatever else you upload on youtube, it will show it as 4:3
    this CAN fix your problem...

    goto youtube video help upload section , it tells you there

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    40

    Default

    okay so i experimented around with some things,

    and it appears that the fake widescreen is certainly an issue i'll need to resolve somehow (which hopefully the zooming in works)

    but also i realized that the video was recorded in 4:3 and i was using settings of 16:9 when editing the video so i believe that contributed to the weird/small size of the finished product

    a question i have for you, smifis, is how i go about zooming my video in.. and taking into consideration what i just said about the video being 4:3, what amount do i have to zoom it in by?

    and a question i have for you, kishoreda, is how i go about editing the output settings (they seem to be "locked" in premiere... i can't change them)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ENGLAND!
    Posts
    774

    Default

    click a clip on the timeline. ontop of the left monitor window, there should be a tab called effect controls. click onto that and you should be presented wiht a new screen.

    under motion there should be something called scale. change this to 133%.

    done

Similar Threads

  1. Has anyone imported avchd clips into Photoshop CS4?
    By Nikosony in forum AVCHD and HDV editing
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-08-2009, 03:19 PM
  2. Converting from AVCHD to DV-AVI, smaller file size or same size?
    By Nikosony in forum AVCHD and HDV editing
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-14-2009, 01:04 PM
  3. Fuzzy Imported Clips...
    By mhoctober in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-12-2007, 07:15 PM
  4. video not imported
    By izzykatz in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-02-2007, 09:39 AM
  5. Inconsistency of imported clips
    By Cam in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-16-2007, 06:32 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •