Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Configuring VS8

Default Configuring VS8

Hi guys
    I'm a beginner looking for some advice on how to set up VS8 to capture dv avi from a camcorder, edit and export back to camcorder, from where I will burn to dvd via a dvd recorder.
    My equipment is
    sony vaio laptop 1Gz 246MB RAM
    panasonic nvgs55 camcorder
    philips dvd recorder
    I have tried a few things but get jumpy video and distorted audio exported back to the camcorder (it looks bad when previewing in VS.
    I have done the same operation using dvgate and the result is good so I think the problem is down to VS8 settings.
    Any advice more than welcome
    Cheers
    Ian

If you have jumpy playback then defrag your hard disk (or disks if you have more than one) Incidentally if you do have a second hard drive then you should dedicate your Video editing files (including temporary files) to that drive.

The correct settings for export back to DV Cam are DV Type 1. You can check this in Video Studio,

1. From the File menu select Project Properties

2. Ensure that the Edit file format: drop down box is set to Microsoft AVI files

3. Click the Edit button

4. Click the AVI tab

5. In the Compression: drop down box set the value to DV Video Encoder -- type 1

6. Set the Audio Format value to DV Audio -- PAL (oer NTSC for N America)

7. Click the General tab

8. Set the Frame rate to 25 (PAL) or 29.97 (NTSC)

9. Set the Frame Size to 720x576(PAL) or 720x480(NTSC)

10. Click the OK button

11. Continue your project to completion

Remember to defrag that hard disk

Enjoy

COMPAQ something or other with 500Gb Boot Disk, 1Tb external Firewire Disk, 4Gb Memory and a super duper sound card, 19" TFT Monitor etc etc etc
    Sony TRV33e : Sony TRV310e : Canon XM2
    Sony Vegas Studio editions to v11

Remember, there is always more to learn than there is to teach.

Hi purejammy
    Defrag in progress!