Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Scene Detect

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    134

    Default Scene Detect

    Does the premiere proscene detect work if the timecode on the dv tape in continous? I tried capturing some shots using scene detect and nothing seemed to happen. Am I doing something wrong? Do I have to do something else other than enable scene detect?

    Thanks

    Nick
    Full Specs: 3.2 Pentium 4 Processor, 1Gb RAM 80Gb Root Drive, 120Gb Video Drive + another 160Gb external, Adobe Premiere Pro, Pinnacle liquid edition pro, ati radion 256mb

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Never used the scene detection setting, but I believe it should work as you expect (at least according to my review!) I'll check the manual when I get a chance, but I think it detects changes in light etc...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    791

    Default

    I can answer this with some degree of certainty because this was probably the single biggest gripe I had with Premiere. I posted to their forums some time ago and had some official responses.

    The metadata scene detection (time based) from a continuous timecode should work and does is some circumstances but I never got it to work from my XM2 (and the scene detection worked from the very same tapes when used with Scenealyzer and Pinnacle LE). Also Marc is 100% spot on when he says it will not detect video content changes (unlike some other video editing packages, and I believe Scenalyzer).

    What astounded me the most was one of the responses from an Adobe official (moderator) was to use Scenalyzer (which had I spent the money on Premiere I would have been most upset with, thankfully I was using the trial).

    All my experiences were based on using Premiere Pro 1.0. I don't know if there are any differences with 1.5.
    Lloyd

    That's my opinion. If you don't like it I have others

    System: Apple Macbook Pro 17, and an external Freecom 500GB eSATA drive.
    Software: Final Cut Studio 2 (FCP 6, Motion 3, Soundtrack Pro 2, Color, DVD Studio Pro 4, Compressor 3), Sonicfire Pro 4.5
    Favourite Resources: Findsounds.com, Free DVD menus, Ken Stone's FCP Page, Wikivid

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    I believe the scene detection was one of the updates included in the point release to 1.5...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    134

    Default

    Ok thanks, unfortunaly I dont have the update as of yet so will just do without. It seems strange though that a programme as profeesional as premiere pro can't carry out simple functions that other cheaper packages can!

    Thanks anyway,

    Nick
    Full Specs: 3.2 Pentium 4 Processor, 1Gb RAM 80Gb Root Drive, 120Gb Video Drive + another 160Gb external, Adobe Premiere Pro, Pinnacle liquid edition pro, ati radion 256mb

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    It's basically regarded as a "lower end" function...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    791

    Default

    What's a "lower end" funtion?
    Lloyd

    That's my opinion. If you don't like it I have others

    System: Apple Macbook Pro 17, and an external Freecom 500GB eSATA drive.
    Software: Final Cut Studio 2 (FCP 6, Motion 3, Soundtrack Pro 2, Color, DVD Studio Pro 4, Compressor 3), Sonicfire Pro 4.5
    Favourite Resources: Findsounds.com, Free DVD menus, Ken Stone's FCP Page, Wikivid

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Scene detection?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    791

    Default

    I meant what does the term "lower end function" actually mean?
    Lloyd

    That's my opinion. If you don't like it I have others

    System: Apple Macbook Pro 17, and an external Freecom 500GB eSATA drive.
    Software: Final Cut Studio 2 (FCP 6, Motion 3, Soundtrack Pro 2, Color, DVD Studio Pro 4, Compressor 3), Sonicfire Pro 4.5
    Favourite Resources: Findsounds.com, Free DVD menus, Ken Stone's FCP Page, Wikivid

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    I made it up to look all important like.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. PC doesn't detect Sony camcorder via Firewire
    By dubkov in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 10-10-2009, 11:04 PM
  2. PC won't detect Cam in *USB Streaming*
    By NashTax in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-14-2006, 06:06 PM
  3. Won't detect videocamera for capturing...
    By DHbiker in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-30-2006, 07:37 AM
  4. Scene Detect Caused a Windows Reinstall
    By komarx in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-09-2005, 10:27 PM
  5. Scene Detect on premier pro
    By studioareli in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-04-2004, 04:42 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •