Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rotating video frames from Portrait to Landscape

1. Default Rotating video frames from Portrait to Landscape

Hello,
    I am an amateur home video photographer and I was asked to record a wedding of a good friend this weekend. So, i did. Now I have a problem. During the lighting of the unity candles and during the blessing of the rings, I turned the camera on its side, on the tripod, as to be able to zoom in on just the bride and grooms whole body. I thought that by doing this, the recording would still show up in a landscape form. Only when I got back home and watched the video did I realize that it was not like my iphone, with an accelerometer, and that the video footage would actually be in a portrait frame with the video showing sideways. SO, after enquiring about this in the 'wedding footage' forum, and finding someone with Sony Vegas Pro 9, my questions is this,

Would someone be willing to provide me with some detailed instructions on how I can use this program to flip each one of the frames that needs flipped back to landscape? I have no experience with this program and my uncle, though he has a personal studio in his house, more along the lines of photography rather than videography, he has very little experience with this program either. I am going to need to know how to locate the exact frames and then, once I've located them, what I need to do to rotate these 90 degrees.

Any and all advice is greatly appreciated.

OK, here we go!!
    Drop the video onto the timeline and then go thru the entire video very carefully and when you get to a "portrait" portion hit the "S" key and the video will be split at that point..continue until the footage returns to normal and hit the "S" key again to split the video. Do the entire footage and you should be left with the complete footage with "cuts" at in and out points isolating the "portrait" bits.