Thread: Why does it take me 8 hours to rip a DVD?

Default Why does it take me 8 hours to rip a DVD?

I'm new to the ripping scene and I'm using AVS Converter 6.3 .......when I rip a DVD I just open the first Vob file that contains the first part of the movie and I have it set to rip to MPEG4 (DIVX,XVID),768 kbps;Audio MP3, 96kbps..............I hit the convert button and it takes like 8 hours to finish.....is this normal?........am I doing something wrong?.........any help would be appreciated...........thanks

Quote Originally Posted by drumcrazd View Post
    I'm new to the ripping scene and I'm using AVS Converter 6.3 .......when I rip a DVD I just open the first Vob file that contains the first part of the movie and I have it set to rip to MPEG4 (DIVX,XVID),768 kbps;Audio MP3, 96kbps..............I hit the convert button and it takes like 8 hours to finish.....is this normal?........am I doing something wrong?.........any help would be appreciated...........thanks
    Hi Drumcrazd,

My first thoughts are, that you are using a computer that is over 3 years old and or a single cored CPU with very little memory installed..

If indeed your computer is not a dual or quad core with a minimum of 4 gigs of memory, then when you get around to updating it, to a quad core with at least 4 gigs of memory, your rendering times should be considerably shorter..

Going by your rendering times, I would say your computer is a single cored Pentium clocking around 1.5 GHz max with around 1 gigs or less memory installed, this is just a guess mind you..

Cheers and good luck with your pending upgrade Drumcrazd..

Pete..
    May the Universe return a hundred
    fold what you charge unto others

Wow!...there you go...you answered my question and you are totally right.......my computer is 1.5G with 512M of memory.....guess I need to upgrade......thanks very much

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by laidback View Post