Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: .MOV in Sony Vegas

  1. Default .MOV in Sony Vegas

    Hi all! This is my first post, but I really need help.

    So, I've been looking to buy a camcorder, and need it soon. So I was going to buy a DXG 595V, but it records in .MOV

    I've heard that Sony Vegas Pro 8 doesn't work well with MOV files. I use XP SP2 if that helps.

    Can anyone tell me how to fix it before I waste 200 dollars?

  2. Default

    Also, I first upload to Adobe Photoshop before importing to Vegas, if that helps at all.

  3. Default

    Triple Post.

    I really don't wanna buy QuickTime Pro.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Huntington, West Virginia USA
    Posts
    909

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kyle Friend View Post
    Hi all! This is my first post, but I really need help.

    So, I've been looking to buy a camcorder, and need it soon. So I was going to buy a DXG 595V, but it records in .MOV

    I've heard that Sony Vegas Pro 8 doesn't work well with MOV files. I use XP SP2 if that helps.

    Can anyone tell me how to fix it before I waste 200 dollars?
    Sony Vegas has no trouble editing .MOV files. Where Sony has a problem is in rendering .MOV files in the default setting. As long as you render the edited video into something other than .MOV files, you will have no problem. You can get half-way decent .MOV renders in Sony, if you use custom settings.

  5. Default

    I meant, the video format of the camera, is .MOV,

    the one I have now is .AVI and it works fine. I render into .Wmv or something. I heard .Mov files in Vegas have no audio, or don't come up at all on the timeline

  6. Default

    Can someone please help me?

  7. #7

    Default

    Digger just did!

  8. Default

    No. As much as I appreciate his help, it didn't answer my question.

    Do .MOV files's audio show up in the timeline, and do they render well if rendering into .wmv

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,847
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Digger DID answer your question. In fact he gave more details than you requested.

    He said "Sony Vegas has no trouble editing .MOV files." If the audio didn't show up in the timeline then I would think the WOULD be trouble editing, wouldn't you?

    He also Vegas does have a bit of a problem rendering to MOV (consider this a "bonus answer" to your question)

    And then, Digger must have had a premonition, because he even managed to answer the question you hadn't even asked yet by stating "As long as you render the edited video into something other than .MOV files, you will have no problem. "

    FWIW I just fired up Vegas 8 and dropped a .MOV on the timeline (h263 codec) and both audio and video showed up fine.
    Tim

  10. Default

    Okay, I didn't quite understand what Digger said then. Thank you both very much, I really appreciate it.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. differences in sony vegas 8 pro and sony vegas 9 pro
    By ACVideos1080 in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-25-2009, 09:54 AM
  2. Sony Vegas + Sony Video Capture = problem
    By Cisneiros in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-17-2009, 09:08 PM
  3. HELP!! with sony vegas 8.0
    By shaneuk666 in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-30-2008, 09:40 AM
  4. Sony Vegas 6
    By Siobhan72 in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-18-2007, 09:40 PM
  5. Unable to Print to Tape using Sony Vegas and Sony Handicam
    By yroy in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-18-2005, 12:49 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •