Thread: New to Editing

Default New to Editing

Hi all, I'm new here and was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction. I am new to editing and currently have a sony PC120 digital video camera with a raynox 0.5 wide angled lense.

I've just been getting used to jumping with it etc, therefore, have been getting used to basic editing it on my Dell Inspiron 1525 laptop using the standard windows Movie Maker (the standard version and version 2.6).

Now is where I am interested in producing some good quality DVD's and after reading some of the posts on here, would probably like to stick with Windows based software rather than buying a mac purely for editing. Theferore, I could be doing with some direction on the following:

1. Is my current laptop (running Windows Vista) sufice to get me up and running?

2. What is a good/recommended/proven editing software package that I could purchase.

Many Thanks!

Can you give us some specifications of your laptop so that we can get a better idea of what you're editing with?

If you want to push forward with editing, then you're right in looking for a better software package as WMM is just so limited. I currently use Adobe Premiere Pro (although that could be a bit expensive for you depending on what you want to spend) so why not check out Adobe Premiere Elements. It's quite easy to learn to use and provides some great functions.

Hope this helps.
    www.nothingissound.co.uk // http://www.youtube.com/user/truebassist

Sony DSR-PDX10 // Sony Wide Angle Conversion Lens 0.7x // Sony ECM-NV1 // RØDE NTG-1 // Dolly [coming soon]

Adobe CS4 Master Suite // MacBook Pro Alu 2.4Ghz

Hi, and thanks for your reply! Sorry for the delay in getting back to you, I have been away for a few days. The spec of my laptop is as follows:

Dell Inspiron 1525, Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU, T5750 @ 2.00 GHz 2GHz
    Memory (RAM) 2.00 GB
    32 Bit Operating System

(all copied directly from the Control Panel!)