Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How To Achieve Widescreen Look

Default How To Achieve Widescreen Look

Hi, I'm a Vegas Pro user as you may have guessed.
    Anyway, I'm working just with some footage off a friends camcorder, and I was wondering how do you crop the bottom or top of the frame out completely to black?
    I don't want to shrink the image, but want the black border to come in further in the video to give the impression of wide-screen if you understand me.

If you have any idea's help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks, Ben

What is your source material, 4:3? If so make a Generated Media BLACK above the Video Track and use a Bezier mask. Or anything that'll mask the top and bottom. If you have 16:9 already, then . . . ?

Quote Originally Posted by Grazie View Post
    What is your source material, 4:3? If so make a Generated Media BLACK above the Video Track and use a Bezier mask. Or anything that'll mask the top and bottom. If you have 16:9 already, then . . . ?
    It's 4:3. Thanks for that, i'll try it. I actually found masking in a couple black banners work to a certain extent, but your suggestion should work better.

Or go to crop/pan. Hold down ctrl and drag the box to any widescreen shape you want. Then just move the box up/down to highlight any part of the pic.

Quote Originally Posted by Archie View Post
    Or go to crop/pan. Hold down ctrl and drag the box to any widescreen shape you want. Then just move the box up/down to highlight any part of the pic.
    I don't think this is what our chum wanted.

He was wanting the following: "I was wondering how do you crop the bottom or top of the frame out completely to black?" This was my first clue. Note, not transparent borders, but completely "black", which you'd not get from altering the FRAME size. It "appears" black, but it isn't

Here's the second: