Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Trouble with Video FX - it only does the borders..?

  1. Default Trouble with Video FX - it only does the borders..?

    I am new at Sony Vegas, and just getting the hang of it, when - I think I clicked on something - the Video FX options do not work like they worked before. I wanted to blend a video with another one, then I wanted to desaturate the top vid. But it only does the edges!

    Example:



    I didn't use the 'desaturate' option, but the 'cold' one.

    It's not like I want to go pro on this, but I think fanvids are an excellent way of improving my video editing skills.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,851
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I suspect that the difference you're witnessing between how the FX work now and how they did before is down to where you are applying the FX.

    In Vegas you can apply FX to the event (just a single bit of a clip that shows on the timeline), the media (the whole of the clip as captured/imported), the track (ie all events appearing in the same track on the timeline) or the project.

    Furthermore, with envelopes and/or keyframes you can affect how much of these FX (or particular parameters of these FX) are applied over time (within event, media, track or project)

    As you can see there are many variables which is one way in which Vegas is so flexible. It does however mean you have to pay great attention to keeping track of where you've applied FX etc.
    Tim

  3. Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TimStannard View Post
    I suspect that the difference you're witnessing between how the FX work now and how they did before is down to where you are applying the FX.

    In Vegas you can apply FX to the event (just a single bit of a clip that shows on the timeline), the media (the whole of the clip as captured/imported), the track (ie all events appearing in the same track on the timeline) or the project.

    Furthermore, with envelopes and/or keyframes you can affect how much of these FX (or particular parameters of these FX) are applied over time (within event, media, track or project)

    As you can see there are many variables which is one way in which Vegas is so flexible. It does however mean you have to pay great attention to keeping track of where you've applied FX etc.
    I'm sorry...but I don't understand. I can take another look at it..

  4. #4

    Default

    Also it looks to me as if you have superimposed a 4x3 video ON top of a 16x9? Do you have 2 tracks of video?

    I'd need to see a screen grab of your timeline . . . .

  5. Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Grazie View Post
    Also it looks to me as if you have superimposed a 4x3 video ON top of a 16x9? Do you have 2 tracks of video?

    I'd need to see a screen grab of your timeline . . . .
    Alright, let me see.. I took a screencap of my whole screen, but I thought that was too big. (I don't have the example anymore, but I'll try to do the same thing)

  6. #6

    Default

    Methinks Grazie has hit the nail on the head. Looks like a 4:3 clip on top of a 16:9 clip, with the FX only added to the lower 16:9 clip - which is why you can only see the FX at the edges.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    166

    Default

    Hi ForesnicDuck

    If both your clips are 16:9 and not different sizes, click the VFX icon next to the word "Draft" in your preview window ..that allows you to apply the fx to just a section of the preview screen so you can compare a "before" and "after" shot.

    It does look like 16:9 with 4:3 on top but it was worth mentioning the VFX preview settings too...fooled me the first time I carefully applied an effect and Vegas only applied it to half the screen, so watch that one too!!

    Chris

  8. #8

    Default

    Chris, at the moment our chum has the FX-Bypass engaged. Now, as you had found out, that COULD mean that he has By-passed the FXs OR he has By-passed the Fxs with the sub set of "ALL" engaged. There are at least 2 possible outcomes from having that Icon depressed.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,851
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Archie View Post
    Methinks Grazie has hit the nail on the head. Looks like a 4:3 clip on top of a 16:9 clip, with the FX only added to the lower 16:9 clip - which is why you can only see the FX at the edges.
    I thought that was intentional but that forensicduck was having a bit of a problem assigning FX at the right "level". My bad.
    FD - Many apologies - I was answering a more complex question than you were asking. I suggest you do what Grazie says and post a grab of the whole screen and ignore my reasonably accurate but irrelevant post.
    Tim

  10. Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TimStannard View Post
    I thought that was intentional but that forensicduck was having a bit of a problem assigning FX at the right "level". My bad.
    FD - Many apologies - I was answering a more complex question than you were asking. I suggest you do what Grazie says and post a grab of the whole screen and ignore my reasonably accurate but irrelevant post.
    Well, I was rather confused by your reply, but I just tried to just grab a video file and see what it does then, same thing happens.

    I'm so glad people are willing to help me. I just got the program so I'm still very much in a learning stage..


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Please help, getting rid of black borders
    By WishinG in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-30-2008, 07:55 PM
  2. having trouble getting my video on my mac
    By a17jara in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-04-2008, 06:23 AM
  3. Borders
    By n0s3^^ in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-14-2008, 08:28 AM
  4. Black Borders
    By skribe in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-29-2006, 05:16 PM
  5. Creating borders
    By Roger Young in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-17-2005, 07:30 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •