Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trouble with Video FX - it only does the borders..?

1. Default Trouble with Video FX - it only does the borders..?

I am new at Sony Vegas, and just getting the hang of it, when - I think I clicked on something - the Video FX options do not work like they worked before. I wanted to blend a video with another one, then I wanted to desaturate the top vid. But it only does the edges!

Example:

I didn't use the 'desaturate' option, but the 'cold' one.

It's not like I want to go pro on this, but I think fanvids are an excellent way of improving my video editing skills.

Blog Entries

I suspect that the difference you're witnessing between how the FX work now and how they did before is down to where you are applying the FX.

In Vegas you can apply FX to the event (just a single bit of a clip that shows on the timeline), the media (the whole of the clip as captured/imported), the track (ie all events appearing in the same track on the timeline) or the project.

Furthermore, with envelopes and/or keyframes you can affect how much of these FX (or particular parameters of these FX) are applied over time (within event, media, track or project)

As you can see there are many variables which is one way in which Vegas is so flexible. It does however mean you have to pay great attention to keeping track of where you've applied FX etc.
    Tim

3. Default

Quote Originally Posted by TimStannard View Post
    I suspect that the difference you're witnessing between how the FX work now and how they did before is down to where you are applying the FX.

In Vegas you can apply FX to the event (just a single bit of a clip that shows on the timeline), the media (the whole of the clip as captured/imported), the track (ie all events appearing in the same track on the timeline) or the project.