Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: PC wont recognize camcorder

  1. #1

    Default PC wont recognize camcorder

    I recently installed a firewire PCIe card onto my mobo. Today I connected my canon ZR800 handheld to the PC. I immediately got the window that said "new hardware found. Canon ZR800". Then the New Hardware window came up. It keeps asking me for the drivers for the camcorder. I didn't think I had any, so I went to the Canon site. There are no drivers for it either. How do I get this camcorder to work? I've read that XP automatically loads the proper driver, but so far, nothing. Am I doing anything wrong?

    I'm running Windows XP pro. I also have Pinnacle Studio Plus version 11.
    Pinnacle does not recognize any DV device.

    In Device Manager I have a yellow question mark under Other Devices.
    Any helpful suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2

    Default

    Problem solved! Hopefully this will help someone else.

    When I purchased and installed the 1394 adapter card, it came with a software bundle. One of those applications was a program called "UbSwitch" from UbCore. What is does is allow you to switch from UniBrain drivers to Microsoft Drivers. All this time I was using UniBrain drivers. When I switch over to Microsoft drivers, everything just took off. It recognize everything and now I can capture in Pinnacle, and probably even Windows Movie Maker (which I haven't tried to do yet).

    So, if anyone else is having trouble having their DV camcorder recognized, you may want to look at any conflicting software.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    What type of software are you trying to install? What spec is your computer? Do you need any new updates for your computer?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    512MB of RAM is very low to be using Photoshop and totally inadequate for video editing. You need at least 2GB of RAM, a defragmented hard disk and lots of free space on it. Depending on which version of Photoshop and what the video editing software is you are trying to run, you may require a dual core processor as well.

Similar Threads

  1. Sony camcorder wont connect with VISTA
    By Trossachs in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-15-2008, 01:36 PM
  2. computer wont recognize camera
    By gradhardcore in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-25-2008, 03:56 PM
  3. Computer will not recognize DV recorder
    By KenR in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-25-2007, 04:19 AM
  4. PPro 1.5 does not recognize my Z1U. VLC works.
    By knowyouremeny in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-20-2006, 05:48 AM
  5. Computer Can't Recognize Your Camcorder? Chk PCI Power Mgmt
    By IronFish in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-24-2005, 05:25 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •