Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wedding Videography. What camera?

Default Wedding Videography. What camera?

Hi,
    I am new to wedding videography and am looking for a camera to purchase for the purpose. I am looking for something that shoots in Full HD 1080i, has good low light performance And has XLR inputs (although not essential).

I have a budget of around 3000

What reccomendations would you give?
    I was looking at the Sony HVR-Z5 as it fits these requirements but then heard about the rolling shutter problems it has. Has anybody experienced this?

Thanks in advance.

Also what do you use for audio. Ive heard of people putting a wireless lapel mic on the groom, or would i be better off with an on camera shotgun mic?

I'd get some trining first and worry about gear afterwards, also worth hiring to see what works best for you

Blog Entries

At that sort of price you can find a Canon XH A1. However you won't find anything which shoots in "proper" HD at that price, you're looking at HDV or AVCHD until you get to the Sony at nearly 5k with bits and bobs.

Quote Originally Posted by kingbling11 View Post
    Hi,
    I am new to wedding videography and am looking for a camera to purchase for the purpose. I am looking for something that shoots in Full HD 1080i, has good low light performance And has XLR inputs (although not essential).

I have a budget of around 3000

What reccomendations would you give?
    I was looking at the Sony HVR-Z5 as it fits these requirements but then heard about the rolling shutter problems it has. Has anybody experienced this?

Thanks in advance.
    Rolling shutter is used a lot in CMOS cameras.. It shouldn't be an issue with doing weddings unless you pan fast.
    Wil

Software Used:
    TGV Edius 6, TGV ProCoder 3, DVD Lab Pro. 2

http://www.youtube.com/user/ChapmanProduction

Apparantly the rolling shutter is causing even more problems when filming weddings.