Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: single channel audio into stereo in cs4

  1. #1

    Default single channel audio into stereo in cs4

    I have a video I recorded with a single channel wireless mike and now the sound is only on one channel. The camcorder is in 5.1. I'm new and I know this should be simple. I have the CS4 suite with Premiere and Soundbooth. I appreciate any help!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ENGLAND!
    Posts
    774

    Default

    goto the effects panel > Audio Effects > Stereo > Fill Left and apply that to each of your clips.

    the mic input on the camera will be stereo and thus will record in stereo even the if the camera has a 5.1 microphone.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Warsop, Nottinghamshire.
    Posts
    4,465
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Quote - ""Perfection is gold but the ultimate disease" Smifis, '09"
    If only that were true of your posts Smifis. I'm guessing your sig isn't meant in an ironicway...
    Last edited by Andy Lockwood; 09-05-2009 at 08:18 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    4,192
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    It is simple Dhaver. If you record on one mono mic you will record mono.
    Ignore young Smifis (we always do) the camcorder will NOT record in stereo just because the input is stereo, it will record a mono signal because there is only one input and that is mono. You might be able to have it record on both tracks but it still ain't a stereo recording.

    You can duplicate the mono signal in post but you still end up in mono. Unless you've got a dedicated sound designer, it's far better to work the whole project in mono rather than having bits in mono, bits in stereo and bits in surround-sound.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ENGLAND!
    Posts
    774

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Andy Lockwood View Post
    Quote - ""Perfection is gold but the ultimate disease" Smifis, '09"
    If only that were true of your posts Smifis. I'm guessing your sig isn't meant in an ironicway...
    You know what, it actually kindof is

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ENGLAND!
    Posts
    774

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The Gaffer View Post
    It is simple Dhaver. If you record on one mono mic you will record mono.
    Ignore young Smifis (we always do) the camcorder will NOT record in stereo just because the input is stereo, it will record a mono signal because there is only one input and that is mono. You might be able to have it record on both tracks but it still ain't a stereo recording.

    You can duplicate the mono signal in post but you still end up in mono. Unless you've got a dedicated sound designer, it's far better to work the whole project in mono rather than having bits in mono, bits in stereo and bits in surround-sound.
    What I'm trying to say is one track will be empty so you will have to duplicate the track with the mono audio in.

    i know it isn't stereo. it may technically be stereo but since the channels are the same it will sound mono.

    in premiere pro, there is no option to choose just one channel and use it as if it has a mono audio track on, you have to duplicated the other channel and you do this by using the fill left effect

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    With regard to taking the soingle channel sound and applying it to both smifis is right. Fill left (or fill right) as appropriate.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ENGLAND!
    Posts
    774

    Default

    At least someone sticks up for me

Similar Threads

  1. stereo/5.1 audio output from premier pro 2.0
    By insz in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-10-2007, 02:11 AM
  2. Stereo Audio
    By Firefly in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-20-2007, 08:47 PM
  3. Split L & R Channel Audio into 2 new seperate stereo tracks - How ?
    By DPS in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-02-2006, 12:17 PM
  4. memory dual or single channel
    By mattman in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-31-2006, 06:27 PM
  5. Import Single Channel as Mono
    By shanspal in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-29-2005, 11:26 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •