Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: HELP!! Connecting Panasonic NV EX3 to laptop

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    4

    Thumbs down HELP!! Connecting Panasonic NV EX3 to laptop

    Hi

    My dad's had the Panasonic NV EX3 camcorder for years and i've been using it recently and i wanted to connect it to my laptop to edit some video clips but i have no idea how to do that. I've been reading something about using firewire and i don't think the camcorder has a firewire port. Can someone please explain what i'm suppose to do?

    Thank you!

    Sarah

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    Yes your camcorder is a mini dv model and has a firewire connection.

    Panasonic NV EX3EG - camcorder - Mini DV - Digital Camcorders - CNET Archive

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nikosony View Post
    Yes your camcorder is a mini dv model and has a firewire connection.

    Panasonic NV EX3EG - camcorder - Mini DV - Digital Camcorders - CNET Archive
    Thank you for that, i've read stuff on different website that says it doesn't have one, but i've found it now[it was hidden]. I don't have the cable for it so is there a certain one i have to buy or are they all the same?

    Also, would i need a certain software to transfer the video to my laptop or would Windows Movie Maker do that?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    Does your laptop have a firewire socket? If it does your ready to go along with a 4 pin to 6 pin cable. If your laptop doesn't have a built in firewire socket then you can use either a plug in PCMCIA card or an Express card that has Firewire. Check your laptop to see what's available.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nikosony View Post
    Does your laptop have a firewire socket? If it does your ready to go along with a 4 pin to 6 pin cable. If your laptop doesn't have a built in firewire socket then you can use either a plug in PCMCIA card or an Express card that has Firewire. Check your laptop to see what's available.
    Yeah it does have a firewire socket, if i understand the whole pin thing properly, i think my laptop has a 4-pin firewire socket. So i should buy a 4-pin to 4-pin cable right?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ENGLAND!
    Posts
    774

    Default

    That is correct

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by smifis View Post
    That is correct
    Thank you! i'm going to go buy it tomorrow =]

Similar Threads

  1. Connecting HDR-FX1 cam to MS9 via 1394
    By FrankK in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-30-2011, 07:17 AM
  2. JVC not connecting through my Firewire
    By scottishcamman in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-11-2009, 12:06 AM
  3. Connecting Laptop to TV - Help please
    By Jat90 in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-07-2009, 10:22 AM
  4. Connecting a VHS player to the PC (What's the best way?)
    By Matty Boy in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-29-2005, 09:14 PM
  5. Please help! tv connecting problems!
    By akirakurosawa in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-03-2004, 10:48 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •