Thread: need help how to render

Default need help how to render

I filmed a wedding for a family friend and edited it. Im no professional or anything he just didnt want to pay for a pro so he asked me to do it. I shot it with a reg $600 camcorder minidv thats a few years old. Im not sure what to render it as or anything. I did it as the default and its 9.2 gigs. I dont know if thats normal or what. But, any suggestions on what settings to use would be thankful

Blog Entries

What you render your film as depends entirely upon what you are going to do with it.
    I would certainly render as the same format as your source (sddv avi). This wioll be of the same quality as the original footage and is the version you should archive.

You should also use this version as the source material for whatever other formats you need (simply to save Vegas having to do all the work for effects/transitions/titles etc again).

If it's a DVD you're making - there's no choice. You HAVE to render as MPEG-2 (there are decisions to make along the way VBR/CBR etc etc) which all affect how large the file is going to be, but so long as the movie is less than about 90 mins it will fit on a single layer DVD using the default settings.

If it's for the web - well, the choice is seemingly endless. I just do a basic WMV at 720 25fps 3Mbs which gets me the YouTube will recompress to whatever settings it uses for its "HD" settings. But then anything I put up on YT is quite short and size isn't an issue.
    Tim

3. Default

Quote Originally Posted by TimStannard View Post
    If it's a DVD you're making - there's no choice. You HAVE to render as MPEG-2 (there are decisions to make along the way VBR/CBR etc etc) which all affect how large the file is going to be, but so long as the movie is less than about 90 mins it will fit on a single layer DVD using the default settings.