Thread: Grrr, Arrgh, translated into, 'Help'!

Unhappy Grrr, Arrgh, translated into, 'Help'!

Hellooo. I'm hoping you camcorder experts can shed some light on a situation I've got myself into (as always) - would be much appreciated.
    A quick background - I'm an artist/musician and am looking to hit a couple of the better quality video sites around (e.g. Vimeo) with some promotional videos. I remain apprehensive about YouTube for some reason... I'm still building my public awareness, and I agree with my management that with the online video world currently booming, it's the perfect time to make my statement...
    My problem is this! I am a perfectionist, and although it has been suggested by quite a few people to invest in a Flip Mino HD or a Creative Vado HD - I'm not so sure I should. There are so many of these pocket HD Camcorders getting released now, and even though they claim to be HD, I'm still not struck on the video quality. Would my money go further investing in an older DV or Mini-DV Camcorder?
    - HD really isn't essential for me as I don't own any HD ready devices.
    - I don't have a need for a pocket-sized camcorder because... I just don't.
    - I own a Canon DSLR camera which has led me to know that resolution is irrelevant when compared to lens/sensor quality/etc.
    I'm not saying I expect the quality of my DSLR camera in a video, but I have fairly high standards and I just feel there's gotta be something better out there for my money... I'm looking for something more cinematic than what these mobile phone-looking camcorders have to offer!
    What do you guys think? And of course the inevitable question - any suggestions?!
    I've been scouring the internet for hours but there are so many options... The Canon range seem to have an external mic input which would be handy, but obviously I have no idea in terms of their video quality.