Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: newbie needs help

  1. #1

    Default newbie needs help

    i cant get my canon mv450i to capture using ulead video studio 8

    im using a newsoft ieee 1394 card running on xp pro

    when i click on capture is says

    "capture module intiate failed

    cannot preview"

    ive tried different plugins and settings but the only other thing i get is another error msg which says

    "failed to build a preview graph

    cannot capture"

    as far as i know ive got all the upto date drivers and there is no irc conflict

    can someone tell me how fix this please before i do my nut and break either the computer or the camera

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    East Kilbride, Scotland
    Posts
    1,002

    Default

    COMPAQ something or other with 500Gb Boot Disk, 1Tb external Firewire Disk, 4Gb Memory and a super duper sound card, 19" TFT Monitor etc etc etc
    Sony TRV33e : Sony TRV310e : Canon XM2
    Sony Vegas Studio editions to v11

    Remember, there is always more to learn than there is to teach.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    East Kilbride, Scotland
    Posts
    1,002

    Default

    Please read fully this post http://www.videoforums.co.uk/viewtop...+preview+graph

    Although the post refers to Mediastudio it is a common problem reprot from all ULead products. It is also worth checking that there are no blank parts to your tape where the time code has been interrupted. Can you check this and please post back with some details on your capture method and capture settings.

    Thanks
    COMPAQ something or other with 500Gb Boot Disk, 1Tb external Firewire Disk, 4Gb Memory and a super duper sound card, 19" TFT Monitor etc etc etc
    Sony TRV33e : Sony TRV310e : Canon XM2
    Sony Vegas Studio editions to v11

    Remember, there is always more to learn than there is to teach.

  5. #5

    Default

    tried that 1....and windv and another 1` i cant remember

    still no joy

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    East Kilbride, Scotland
    Posts
    1,002

    Default

    Getting back to the ULead aspect. Can you read the following post fully

    http://www.videoforums.co.uk/viewtop...+preview+graph

    Although this post refers to Media Studio, the error you report is a generic ULead error, and happens most often when there is either invalid or broken timecode. So check your tape to ensure that the timecode is continuous.

    If you have to post back can you advise of your project settings and your capture method.

    Thanks
    COMPAQ something or other with 500Gb Boot Disk, 1Tb external Firewire Disk, 4Gb Memory and a super duper sound card, 19" TFT Monitor etc etc etc
    Sony TRV33e : Sony TRV310e : Canon XM2
    Sony Vegas Studio editions to v11

    Remember, there is always more to learn than there is to teach.

  7. #7

    Default

    sorry havnt posted back sooner been busy with work

    neway i tried looking at the link you posted and set it up like it says but it was allready set to that....

    ive checked and theres no irc conflict...so now im really stumped

    as for the capture methos i just plug it in and see ((told you i was a newbie at this)

    seriously
    im using a 1.2 pentium ,windows XP pro with 512 RAM

    running Ulead video studio 8 (i tried the presto works that came with the camera but didnt want to work either and someone suggested using either premier or video studio)

    im using the dv cable to connect to a newsoft 1394 pci card

    i was able to capture video using a s-lead to a tv card (not got that any more)
    and it works plugin in to the vcr as well

    dont know if that helps

    if you need any more info just post back here or mail me direct
    karl.wroe@gmail.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    East Kilbride, Scotland
    Posts
    1,002

    Default

    I am (almost) convinced that this is a timecode or tape quality issue. I will do a little more digging on your error code. Meantime can you try recording a new piece of video on your camcorder, and try capturing that using ULead's default settings. If you need any advice on capture settings please post back, but basically they should be set to PAL DV (or NTSC DV if you are from North America or Japan).

    Cheers
    COMPAQ something or other with 500Gb Boot Disk, 1Tb external Firewire Disk, 4Gb Memory and a super duper sound card, 19" TFT Monitor etc etc etc
    Sony TRV33e : Sony TRV310e : Canon XM2
    Sony Vegas Studio editions to v11

    Remember, there is always more to learn than there is to teach.

  9. #9

    Default

    right ill try that...just have to go and buy a new tape first

    thanx a lot 4 your help, i let you know how i get on....dont when ill get a new tape maybe not till after crimbo...just have to put anything i record onto vhs

    have a happy holiday

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    East Kilbride, Scotland
    Posts
    1,002

    Default

    Just had a thought on this. Its a bit of a long shot, but probably worth a go.

    1. From the Tools menu select Device Control (The current device should read MS 1394 Device Control)

    2. Click the Options button

    3. Change the Pre-roll time: value to 400

    4. Change the Delay Record Time value to 400

    5. Good luck

    Hope that works. If it doesn't sorry for wasting time.

    Cheers

    COMPAQ something or other with 500Gb Boot Disk, 1Tb external Firewire Disk, 4Gb Memory and a super duper sound card, 19" TFT Monitor etc etc etc
    Sony TRV33e : Sony TRV310e : Canon XM2
    Sony Vegas Studio editions to v11

    Remember, there is always more to learn than there is to teach.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. XM2 to pc ANOTHER newbie - here we go again!
    By Suz in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 09-12-2006, 11:51 AM
  2. Hi newbie here !!
    By barny in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-24-2005, 02:28 PM
  3. Newbie needs help
    By rpwall in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-20-2005, 09:00 AM
  4. Another newbie.... (sorry)
    By BigBadWimp in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-19-2005, 01:32 PM
  5. Newbie here!
    By Ben Moxham in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-07-2004, 04:33 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •