Thread: HDD vibration issue

Default HDD vibration issue

First off - hello everyone. Im really new to the whole videoing/editing lark so please bare with me.

Last year i bought a Sony HDD SR32 camcorder just for personal use. Recently with my interest in everything automotive i have started to make some video shorts of what my friends and i get upto.

I started to think about making some proper videos. I bought myself a Camera mount for the car and set off with a friend to shot some video.

The Problem:

Mounted the camera mount and camera to the rear window, hit the record button and off we went. We recorded the first 10 to 15 seconds and then the camera went off.

I then learnt that due to vibration the HDD thinks its going for a fall and braces itself for impact and shuts itstelf off - this is obviously ruining the footage im trying to take.

The Questions:

1. Should i cut my losses and sell my camera to buy a MiniDV camcorder?

or

2. Does buying a memory card for the camera solve the issue or will iend up with the same problem??

Sorry if this is a real n00b question - i look forward to hearing your responses

Thanks

Patrick

Blog Entries

In theory, an SD card camera wouldn't have the same problem. Putting an SD card in your camera may not, as I assume the camera doesn't differentiate between SD recording and the internal HDD. With SD cards dirt cheap, it's a matter of suck it and see really.

I've never had this problem with my Panasonic which uses SD cards (no internal HDD). However, why not consider getting a stand alone bullet cam? They're built for the job.

Thanks for the quick reply

Well what kind of quality are we talking Marc - with the Bullet cam i mean?

I see the MiniDV Sony Camera's arent that dear second hand on ebay so if i sold my HDD one i think i could easily get a MiniDV and not be even out of pocket.