Thread: Need some expert help with computers for editing

Detroit Metro

Default Need some expert help with computers for editing

Hello, I have had help before, but now I need some expert-ish help with my issues, of which I will get to in a second.
    First, I am very experienced with editing and I have been doing so, for about 2 years. I am in a pinch, with my program, Sony Vegas Pro 9a, and I am getting slightly upset.
    Here is my Computer and its specs;
    Compaq/HP 6510b Laptop-
    Windows XP SP3
    Intel Core 2 Duo CPU T7300 @ 2GHz
    3 GB of RAM, 778 MHz

I wish I could tell you guys more, but I don't know how, let me know if you need anything else.
    Anyway I am having problems with Sony Vegas Pro 9a, it pretty much won't let me do too much work on it, in any of my projects, its not slow, it just goes into a error reporting thing after I do anything significant.
    I have been having problems for nearly a 1/2 a year, and it has gotten better, but not good.

First of all, my first question is, is there anything I can do to make it better?
    Secondly, I know the Sony Vegas Pro 9a specs but it seems that, my laptop fully surpasses these specs and still has problems, well can I say it...WTF!
    Anyway my other question is this, for christmas and my B-Day (2 weeks apart), I need a new computer, not only for editing (obviously), but also, because mine is like 5 years old (I bought it used). I am going to be going HD with my next computer, so I get some better quality, can anyone please recommend a Desktop (no more BS Laptop business), that is under $1K (Preferably MUCH less, more like closer to $500, but I could splurge). I need something to over and beyond, I also need a good new HD capture source like, a Blackmagic Intensity, or something like this Hauppauge HD PVR, so you would have to factor that into the equation also.