Thread: A few questions for an international project

Default A few questions for an international project

I have two questions:

1. Can PAL be converted to NTSC without quality loss? If not, can NTSC to PAL?
    2. Would someone be so kind to send me or put online a short shot of a moving object filmed in HD, 50fps-interlaced? I need to see wether such a format/framerate (correct term?) does well when I play it back in slo-mo, or that I should look for a camcorder that can record in 50fps-progressive.

Some background information:

I am a movement scientist and single-digit handicap golfer, and have developed a new, much more structured and much more logical golf swing instruction program. I am planning to (eventually) have it released internationally. Even though I will do that through a regular publisher, I want to do the recording of the raw footage myself, because often the devil is in the details and I anticipate that during the editing it will appear that several shots will have to be done over.

I live in The Netherlands, but spend time in the US regularly. I am planning to buy the Canon HF10(0). But here or in the US, and will the 50i do well in my sports video analysis program, slo-mo playback? The Canon does not record in 50p. It does in 25p, but 25fps is not enough for good slo-mo playback. 50fps is (more is not necessary).

The camera also must have good recording capabilities in poor light without lamp, so from what I've seen, the Sony camcorders are not suited. Actually, the Canon is the only one left over from a long list of camcorders. I only hope that 50i will do.

My e-mail: Thanks a million in advance!
    Last edited by Frank62; 08-08-2009 at 01:24 PM.