Thread: Xeon Vs i7

Default Cannot decide Xeon Vs i7 - What do you think

Hi All,

I am new to the forum; I have been reading some of your posts, it has made very interesting reading. I have not found a post on the Xeon Vs i7 and I have done a number of searches, have read some interesting stuff though. Nothing is really tackling the issue from my perspective

I am an Ex PC system builder and it is the first time I am tackling the issues of video editing for a long while. I am a little out of date and unable to make on the fly decisions; that I used to make. I am building a Video Editing PC, with a direction that possibly and most probable not meet your requirements.

I plan to use Adobe Premiere CS3; I might upgrade to CS4 at some point. I know that this isn’t a professional broadcast grade setup, more like your wedding videographer.
    I am not even a professional or semi pro for that matter I am wanting a setup that will serve me well; let’s say a semi pro capacity. I want stability within the platform and I don’t mind waiting for render (its not as if am in a professional hurry).
    But rendering on the fly might be an issue and is something I don’t have experience with, as yet. Oh forgot to mentioned that I want to allow for editing in HD as well, at the moment I don't have a need.

I believe the root to a good system is a great motherboard balanced with the CPU and Memory. Remember that the memory is expandable and the processor you always can pop in a new one at a later date (providing the board can take it). Over the years with my PC’s I just upgraded and relegated them. So a system is how you flow, do you want to upgrade or run it into the ground. I like flexibility, with the knowledge that technology changes (FAST). I believe that getting the motherboard, cpu and memory right is most fundamental part of the system, as mentioned before. Every thing else is secondary.