Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: AVCHD playback in Movie Studio Platinum 9

  1. #1

    Default AVCHD playback in Movie Studio Platinum 9

    Question:

    Is there a way to improve AVCHD playback in Sony Movie Studio Platinum 9? Files in the timeline appear to strobe when played back, but once rendered, don't show any evidence of this. The files were shot with a Panasonic HMC-150 set to 1080/30p.

    The computer is an HP, with an Intel Core Duo E8400 processor at 3.00 ghz. The computer has 4gb of RAM and is running XP Pro.

    I realize XP is not the ideal software choice for this, but it's what we have right now.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,851
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ABCTV View Post
    Question:
    I realize XP is not the ideal software choice for this, but it's what we have right now.
    Says who? XP is the best possible OS for Vegas if you're running 32bit.

    As for your problem. A preview is just a preview. It's a question of balance. You can change the resolution to lower quality in order to check timing and higher quality to check detail. Most of us are continually switching between the two whilst editing.

    I don't use ABCHD myself, but most people seem to report that it really needs a quad core to get smooth AND high quality in the preview window.
    Tim

  3. #3

    Default

    Thanks for the feedback.

    The dealership in Vancouver (BC) that sold us the camera system advised us to go with a 64bit set-up rather than XP Pro. However, I'm trying to make this work in an existing 25-station computer lab that's running XP Pro.

    When we took delivery of the HMC-150 this past January, I also learned the hard way that the Platinum 8 we had been running throughout the lab (on Intel 1,8 ghz processors) wanted nothing to do with the Panasonic AVCHD files (caused immediate crashes).

    So we upgraded processors and RAM on a few machines (and stuck with XP Pro for at least the near future) and went with Platinum 9 on those. So far, student videos produced on those machines, using HMC-150 files are turning out all right, but some complain that the preview is choppy.

    Anyway, I took your advice and it seems to make a substantial difference.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,851
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ABCTV View Post
    The dealership in Vancouver (BC) that sold us the camera system advised us to go with a 64bit set-up rather than XP Pro. However, I'm trying to make this work in an existing 25-station computer lab that's running XP Pro.
    For clarification...
    Only Vegas Pro has a 64 bit version available. Movie Studio does not. There would be little benefit in running 32bit Vegas MSP on a 64bit OS and indeed there could be problems as that combination is unsupported.

    Glad my pointer helped a bit.
    Tim

Similar Threads

  1. Movie studio 8 platinum
    By akstylish in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-11-2009, 04:08 AM
  2. Veags Movie Studio 9 Platinum
    By Ian_H in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-25-2008, 08:28 AM
  3. Vegas Movie Studio Platinum 9 - unable to author AVCHD dvd discs
    By ddgtr in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-22-2008, 02:34 AM
  4. Vegas Movie Studio 8 Platinum???
    By Ian_H in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-18-2008, 01:46 PM
  5. Movie Studio 8...or Platinum 8
    By mark4man in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-14-2007, 05:03 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •