Thread: 64-bit XP? Good or bad?

Default 64-bit XP? Good or bad?

So,I heard that 64-bit XP Pro was good. Anyone using it? I heard there was driver issues?Willl sony vegas 7.0 and Adobe cs4 programs work on it? Or should I get vista 64-home premium?

Yes I do, It lift the memory limit, drivers can be a problem depending on hardware so if you keep to branded stuff you maybe OK. Just depends on your setup, I would personally wait till Windows 7 is launch in Oct.

As no one use Vista and I certainly didn't, with it been resource hungery, Windows 7 is a lot lighter. I have much hope for this OS I just hope microsoft don't let us down. As a rule I never transfer to an OS until the first service pack.

I've been using Vista for the past two years, no problems with it at all. Wait until Windows 7 comes out, there are too many problems with 64 bit OS and Win XP is an old OS now at this stage.

Nikosony: Vista is alright and my comments above weren't saying that Vista was problematic. Just that XP is lighter on system resources, that's why I stuck to it. I personally didn't like Vista, and many people thought the same, I just liked XP over Vista. As to XP 64bit, its a shame it didn't get the same driver support, instead driver writers opted to support vista 64. Shame really, as XP 64 is robust, but as you haven't used it at a guess or had problems with drivers, you probably don't know that.