Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Mass Storage

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Mass Storage

    I know we've got a few PC uber geeks on here, so you might have some pointers for me...

    I'm loking to spend between 300-500 on some networked storage space. Ideally this should be in the region of 500GB (prepared to pay upto 2/GB) and accessed via ethernet. Needs to be virtually silent and accessible over a wired network (also wireless if possible).

    Thoughts?

    I'd be prepared to build a server, but this needs to be added to a windows network and I need DIRECT access to the files (streamin video). Also needs to be uber silent.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    791

    Default

    I have a mate who has 4TB of drive space in a small white box connected to his PC (I think via SATA). Anyway, I've dropped him an email to ask what it's called and where you can get them from (he got his free from his company).

    Let you know when I get a reply (either here or msn).
    Lloyd

    That's my opinion. If you don't like it I have others

    System: Apple Macbook Pro 17, and an external Freecom 500GB eSATA drive.
    Software: Final Cut Studio 2 (FCP 6, Motion 3, Soundtrack Pro 2, Color, DVD Studio Pro 4, Compressor 3), Sonicfire Pro 4.5
    Favourite Resources: Findsounds.com, Free DVD menus, Ken Stone's FCP Page, Wikivid

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Cheers. Getting fed up of juggling projects across drives

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Looks like I'll be building a cheapo pseudo-server and sticking some big drives in it. Seen some NAS servers for the home market, but they cost more than a PC!!!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    791

    Default

    I'm still waiting for a reply from my mate, but will let you know as soon as I hear anything.

    Btw, which of the two you mention in your post are you prepared to pay? 2/GB (1000 for 500GB - be surprised if you ever had to fork out that much for 500GB) or 300-500?
    Lloyd

    That's my opinion. If you don't like it I have others

    System: Apple Macbook Pro 17, and an external Freecom 500GB eSATA drive.
    Software: Final Cut Studio 2 (FCP 6, Motion 3, Soundtrack Pro 2, Color, DVD Studio Pro 4, Compressor 3), Sonicfire Pro 4.5
    Favourite Resources: Findsounds.com, Free DVD menus, Ken Stone's FCP Page, Wikivid

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,893

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Newcastle-Upon-Tyne, England
    Posts
    33

    Default

    newbie here... what a brilliant site !!!... congrats to all contributors !!!

    not quite mass storage but I have just added a 300Gb Sata Maxtor HDD (16Mb cache) .... my OS (XP pro) is on a 160Gb HDD (8Mb cache) - have not used RAID option just left them as drive 0, 1

    Am I right in setting it up with my program Premier Pro on the 160Gb (0), and all my data files on the 300Gb (1)???.. what other options could there be ????

    TIA

    inquisitive minds must know !!!!

    just a little more info on the 'puter...
    3Ghz AMD
    1Gb DDRAM

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Typically, you would have the OS on one drive and video files on another.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    791

    Default

    I am posting my mate's reply verbatim

    My Terabyte's of storage is in a 'SCSI' raid array, very very expensive to buy. Chassis around 400-1,600 (this depends on then number of drive bays), disks anything from 90-1,000 each. These will only be available from certain suppliers, mainly web based.

    This can be made more affordable by adding a 'SCSI' card (Adaptec are the best I've found) to the PC and using a boxed external 'SCSI' drive. The external 'SCSI' drive plugs into the back of the card, externally to the PC via a cable.

    Unfortunately price gets you data transfer speed when it comes to the cards, 20Mbps will cost around 60, whilst 320 Mbps will set him back around 200. Disks obviously vary dependant, yet again on cost.

    These can be brought on the high street at your PC World's, Office World's, Staples etc, costs are better when brought 'Online'. I saved a fortune when I built my PC recently, by using a company called 'NOVATECH' http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/home.html

    Need any further help, give the "Anorak" a shout!!!
    Look slike too much for what you are looking for.
    Lloyd

    That's my opinion. If you don't like it I have others

    System: Apple Macbook Pro 17, and an external Freecom 500GB eSATA drive.
    Software: Final Cut Studio 2 (FCP 6, Motion 3, Soundtrack Pro 2, Color, DVD Studio Pro 4, Compressor 3), Sonicfire Pro 4.5
    Favourite Resources: Findsounds.com, Free DVD menus, Ken Stone's FCP Page, Wikivid

Similar Threads

  1. Need storage?????
    By yeebsy in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-01-2006, 05:23 PM
  2. Storage help !!
    By Dean B in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-16-2006, 03:52 PM
  3. Storage Question
    By nickworks in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-26-2006, 08:16 AM
  4. SD Card storage capacity.
    By nickg in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-25-2005, 03:22 PM
  5. Upgrade help and messed up storage system
    By smokingblowjoe in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-27-2005, 10:59 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •