Thread: recording and editing to/from AVI

Default recording and editing to/from AVI

Hi All,

I am new to this so I hope this is not a silly question...

I am using camstudio to record from the PC screen 800x600. It created an AVI file, an it looks good.

I am testing the editing using a trial version of the Premier Elements 7 but everytime I import the AVI, the image becomes blurred and the text cannot be read . If I play the AVI.. it is very clear... My guess is that it has to do with the setting for the interaced/progressive refresh or /and with the importing framesize...

I have been trying to change them but it seems there is no way to change those in premier elements .. or am I missing something..?
    How can I import edit, compress it and have a decent visible output compressed to a flash format ?

Also, I think camstudio is not the best solution to record a Demo of a product.. do you have a recomendation?

Thanks in advance

Iv had the same problem with Camstudio. From memory ( this was some time ago and i was using Premiere Pro CS3 ) i got around this by setting up a new sequence ( import settings ) to match that of the Camstudio file. I think it would be something like 800x600 (1.0) square pixels at some ridiculous Frame rate. The easiest way to tell in Premiere Pro was to click on the imported footage and get the information about the video from the readout ( next to the small preview window ), and then set up an import sequence to match.

This may cross over to the program you are using. But im sure there is a better desktop recorder out there, anyone have any suggestions?
    Blue Skies

I'm having the same problem and was using the forum's search function and came across this thread. Was wondering if someone could elaborate on what benjo was saying.