Thread: camera advice please!!!

Default camera advice please!!!

Hi, i'm currently studying a video tech course and looking into buying a video camera. I want to use it mainly for making short films but also to film live presentations / seminars etc (to make a few pennies). I don't really want to buy one that i'd want to upgrade in the near future so i'm looking (if i can save up enough) at spending aroung the 2,000ish mark, new or second hand, to get a half decent one. Any info would be greatly appreciated from people more in the know than me, thanks a lot.

Western Europe

Do you want to work in standard definition video or high definition video? Your request is very vague and needs some more details. Do you want to work with tape or memory cards? Do you own a computer at present that can capture and edit high defintion video if you decide to go down that route? What software do you have, Windows Movie Maker doesn't really cut the mustard when it comes to serious editing? If you are going to do professional work then do you have a tripod with a good fluid pan and tilt head? Lights, microphones?

Cheers for the reply

I'm presuming that a solid state camera would be more expensive than tape?? so that could potentially answer that one for me. Ideally i'd like HD but not sure my laptop would be as accomodating to it as it would for SD, what kind of spec would you generally want it have for it to be effective?
    I have Adobe Premiere so i'm ok as far as editing software is concerned.
    And regarding the other equipment, I can just nick it from work!!!

Western Europe