Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Tried to edit avchd with my new laptop...

  1. #1

    Default Tried to edit avchd with my new laptop...

    And it works fine. I know I few peeps have been interested in what spec will or won't work so here's one more bit of info..
    I have techie issues with software because i've never done it before BUT this lappy plays and edits AVCHD fine.

    So :
    Its a laptop with a 16" screen
    4gb ram
    vista premium 32 bit
    250 gig HD
    256 mb graphics card
    AMD dual core 2.1 ghz processor

    It plays and edits fine with Sony Pmb, and Corel video studio
    best bit was it cost 429 and if the screen gets too small for my taste i'll plug into a bigger monitor. I saved 30 mins worth of DVD and burned to DVD with no probs... so AVCHD is possible to edit with a new but basic spec lappy.
    I'm sure it will become less of an issue as in 6 months time even the most basic laptop will have 16gb ram 2 tb harddrive and 2 quadcore 6ghz processors and cost half as much
    but hey, thats technology.
    Alex

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    Thanks for posting that, it will save newcomers to AVCHD spending over the odds for spec they don't need.

  3. #3

    Default

    Wow, I had heard AVCHD was just down impossible without Quad Core.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    4,192
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Good info there Alex. I'd also assumed that a PC with that spec would have difficulties with AVCHD.

    (...and there I was being smug that my Macbook, with almost identical specs, could handle AVCHD without blinking.)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Huntington, West Virginia USA
    Posts
    909

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nikosony View Post
    Thanks for posting that, it will save newcomers to AVCHD spending over the odds for spec they don't need.
    And for us dinosaurs with less computing power, I find that that converting all my AVCHD takes to HD WMV makes for very easy editing in Sony Vegas 8 with very minor loss of quality. In fact, I just returned from a cruise where I had to use a small AVCHD camera to document the trip. Not bad quality for a consumer grade device.

  6. #6

    Default

    Something else that might be of interest is that the avchd files play in windows movie maker. It converts them to hd wmv no problems but on mine the quality is not as hot as playback other software.
    I'm glad the laptop handles the avchd because it means if I go on trips and do a bit of shooting I can backup to the lappy.
    Alex

Similar Threads

  1. how well does your pc edit avchd?
    By alexleominster in forum AVCHD and HDV editing
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 09-11-2009, 12:29 AM
  2. edit AVCHD in Vegas pro8, getting it out?
    By Steve_from_Oz in forum AVCHD and HDV editing
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-18-2009, 08:53 AM
  3. will this edit AVCHD in vegas or similar?
    By alexleominster in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-12-2009, 07:46 PM
  4. Premiere CS4 + AVCHD + Laptop = ?
    By Marc Peters in forum User Videos
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-04-2009, 12:37 AM
  5. Can I edit on a laptop?
    By Nora in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-09-2005, 08:42 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •