Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hd crisis

Default Hd crisis

Hi guys,

Does anyone know the best way to downconvert HD footage in adobe CS3?

I have dipped into the back pocket for a Sony HVR HD 1000 camera and the footage on the preview monitor looks very nice in CS3.

I am trying to get the stuff onto a DVD and when played on any TV it looks really really bad. Grainy and flickery with all the straight lines looking 'blocky'

This is a bit of a nightmare i've burnt countless discs and cant find a suitable solution - I thought HD was meant to look nicer!!!!!!!

I looked at downconverting from the camera but that only does it in 4:3

I have no knowledge of HD or the best workflow for it and any help is much appreciated.

I would downconvert to avi (Premiere on Windows PC's loves avi files!), then edit the file and then burn an 'ordinary' dvd using the mpeg2 settings. Are you playing it back on a standard def tv or high def tv?

have you already edited somethingin hd?

when you export, export via Adobe Media Encoder and choose the AVI-DV widescreen preset.

Hi guys as of yet i've only laid down a few shots on the time line and burnt them to disc to see the improved quality of filming HD (which hasn't yet happened)

So you recommend capturing in HD then Exporting the footage as DV AVI Widescreen.

Will this effect the quality of the video? I dont want to sound to much like a wet willy but with everyone using HD cameras these days , is this the way its done when not exporting to blue ray?

Nikosony: I've watched it on a HD TV so far and it looked terrible

I have just a noticed that when capturing in CS3 the captured footage is saved as MPEG??? could this be an issue. My SD camera footage always captured in AVI

Thanks for the help guys, much appreciated

Ok,

I've exported my captured HD footage to DV AVI Widescreen.

However as I expected there is a quality loss.

This could be a ridiculous question, but as a keen amateur please forgive my ignorance.