Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: video capture device and camera not configured correctly?

Default video capture device and camera not configured correctly?

I have been using a JVC GR-D70U mini DV camcrder for over 4 years. It is connected via a 1394 IEEE firewire cable to PC from the camera. The OS is windows xp. I have been successfully importing video via Movie Mker capture/ Nero and Sonic. Just recently (back in May) I have been having capture problems. The camera will playback and I can control the playback from wMM. When I start to capture, the file size jumps to 5 KB, does not increase. I can pause tape, restart play, but when I stop capture and click to finish, I get an error message - "The video was not captured correctly. Verify that your video camera and capture device are configured properly." I have changed nothing, the IEEE remains stationery in PC, (tried a new cable). Cannot try in another PC, only have the one with the firewire. Any suggestions, I've been searching web for any clues...
    One time, some ridiculous power on sequence worked, have since tried to repeat, only worked the one time.
    Can anyone help??

Can you try some other video editor other than WMM? You can download 30 day trials of most editing software from their respective websites and try them out. Look for Sony Vegas and Adobe Premiere Elements 7. Or you can download a freeware application that will just capture your video and it is called WinDV-123. Try it and see if it works.

Thanks, I'll try Sony Vegas first and keep my fingers crossed. Windows movie maker/Nero Vision Express and Sonic DLA all worked without problems prior to May. I'm usually good at solving issues, but this one has me stumped.

Also download the latest video and audio codecs for Windows XP, defragment the hard disk and disable any utilities or screensavers or just about anything that may be running during the capture process. Some background items can have an affect on capture.