Thread: Do we need a new budget camcorder with external microphone capability?

Default Do we need a new budget camcorder with external microphone capability?

We need to create a "good but not studio quality" video to put on a website.
    And I need to know if I need to buy a new camcorder, and/or a new voice recorder? (or what!)

I am a 'PC literate' but am a total newbie at this video stuff...
    But here is the background of what we are trying to achieve:

My client is an e-commerce website, and because the site uses a rather quirky selling mechanism, we are trying to create a video to put on the website that explains how the site actually works.

We are planning some talking heads. Probably both indoors and outdoors. We will probably also use some screen capturing stuff too later on.

Regarding picture quality, because it will be hosted on the web (possibly via [or similar]) there is obviously no need for ultra high resolution video picture. Basically we want the video to look 'competant' - i.e. 'good quality'. But on the other hand we definitely do NOT want it to look like it came out of a professional studio - just competent that's all !

We have almost zero budget for this project, but I have been given a Samsung Sports Camcorder (VP-X220L), which has 2GB of internal memory but is a couple of years old now.

From our initial experiments but it seems clear for most people to look good, you dont want to got too wide angle on the person you are shooting, but that if the camcorder is not physically close enough to the person then the quality of sound suffers a lot. Thus it seems like we'll need an external mike in order to get half decent sound.

To recap, what we are trying to create is a video, that will be hosted on the web (possibly The video needs to appears to be amateur but "very good quality" amateur.