Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: HD or SD for start-up buisness

1. Default HD or SD for start-up business

Hi Everybody,

Just after some quick advice on gear to buy for wedding's.. Seriously thinking about getting into wedding video's and i'm looking at the cheapest route in to test the water.. Dont worry all the testing will be free to clients.. I've been photographing weddings for over 4 years now and the company i work for get asked all the time about video which is a service that we dont currently offer. I've been interested in video for a little while now so i'm thinking about making the jump..

Main question is would an older SD camera still be ok for wedding video's? I've been looking at the Canon DM-XM2. Or by not going HD would we loose all the bookings.. If the buisness takes off then we would purchase better gear ASAP

Many thanks and look forward to your thoughts..

Craig
    Last edited by bertiebasset; 07-07-2009 at 01:50 PM.

Hi Craig

I shoot weddding full time here and ALL (yes ALL) are in SD. Not only that I can also shoot in 4:3 and nobody seems concerned.

Out of the 36 clients I did last season, just ONE asked me if my cameras were HD. When I said no, I still got the job!! Very few normal, everyday people even know that you need a BluRay player to play HD on your TV!!! Just because HD is available on commercial TV, people don't rush out and get a new DVD Player.

Think about a few other factors too!!
    You need to buy new cameras and there are very few tape based HD cameras around suitable for wedding videography... Go over to AVCHD and you have to consider the following :

(1) To edit AVCHD you will need at least a QuadCore machine and a very fancy graphics card. That will cost you!!
    (2) You will need a BluRay burner PLUS your own HD TV and BluRay player to test your finished discs.