Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: NTSC and PAL

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    hemel hempstead, herts, uk
    Posts
    3

    Default NTSC and PAL

    I thought I had posted this query last night, but today I can't find it.

    I have Pinnacle Studio 8. On holiday in the USA I bought a Sony Handycam. (This is a digital camera, and of course its TV output is US standard NTSC format). Then in UK I bought a firewire board (which came with Video Studio 7) and a new CD writer (which came with Nero Express). I have edited my US video very successfully using Video Studio, and produced a good (PAL) VCD with Nero. Now I want to give my son a copy of the film to take back to the USA after Christmas, and I can't work out how to make an NTSC-compatible VCD. What is the best way?

    jw.gale

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Instead of using the PAL template, use the NTSC one...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    hemel hempstead, herts, uk
    Posts
    3

    Default NTSC and PAL

    Thank you, but ...

    1. What is a template? How do I change it?

    2. Are you referring to Video Studio or Nero?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    See attached image which refers to Nero. Output NTSC video from VideoStudio...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    hemel hempstead, herts, uk
    Posts
    3

    Default NTSC and PAL

    Thank you very much. Apologies for the further delay,but I have also been in touch with Nero and have downloaded some of the updated program versions they recommended. Yesterday I got version 3.0.1.14 of Nero Vision Express 3 package 2 from the Nero web site. It took nearly 3 hours to download(and over an hour to run1) but did produce an NTSC disc which will play (after a fashion) on my PAL DVD player. After Christmas my son a will take it back to the USA, and I can then let the world know the result.

    Apologies too for not describing my computer kit sooner. In case any one is still interested, I have a P900 PC from Fujitsu Siemens - with 40GB disc (now partitioned C, D, and E) and 512 MB RAM. I have added a Pinnacle analogue capture card, a Sound Blaster board, and a Lexmark Z52 printer. I think I am going to get a webcam for Xmas, and next year I shall probably buy a new faster mother board. I recently got an upgraded CD writer.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Good to see you got it sorted.

Similar Threads

  1. pal + ntsc on dvd
    By david walsh in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-28-2009, 10:44 AM
  2. NTSC to PAL
    By JumperMan in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-10-2009, 08:24 AM
  3. Ntsc/pal
    By Alex C in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-19-2006, 09:51 PM
  4. PAL and NTSC??
    By tcs0914 in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-03-2006, 01:04 AM
  5. PAL to NTSC
    By meridklt in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-07-2005, 07:24 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •