Thread: Capturing VHS

Default Capturing VHS

Hi everyone. I'm a huge football fan and have hundreds of tapes waiting to be transferred to DVD but I'm only new to video capturing so I'm pretty lost when it comes to trying to figure out the ideal settings to get the best quality possible. Just so you know, I use CyberLink PowerDirector v6.

Anyway, I was just wondering if anyone could tell me the ideal settings to use. Eg:

*Do I record to MPEG-2 Video, AVI, DivX?
    *What do I set the resolution and bit-rate etc. as?
    *Do I using smoothing and noise removal?

Basically, just any tips that can help me get the best quality for football matches.

Please forgive me if some of these questions are a little stupid, I'm pretty clueless when it comes to this sort of stuff.

Here is a screenshot of an example I have recorded... notice the jagged edges, the blur etc.:

Last edited by sahafan; 07-03-2009 at 10:12 AM.

Do you just want to make dvd copies of your old vhs tapes or do you want edit them aswell?

Well for the most part I want to edit them. Although if that is going to degrade the quality by a fair amount then I guess I'd be happy to just make exact copies. Is that what you would recommend?

Direct copies from vhs to dvd can be done by hooking up a vhs deck to a home dvd recorder. Put the tape in the vhs deck and a blank disc in the dvd recorder. Set the recording quality to the highest setting on the dvd recorder and press play on the vhs deck and record on the dvd recorder. You should get about an hour of recordiing on the blank disc, so get ready to stop at around 50 - 55 minutes. Some dvd recorders will not finalize the disc if you let the recording go to the end. I had a Sony dvd recorder a few years ago and if you didn't stop it before the disc was full, it messed up the finalize option.