Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Clip from short horror psychological thriller short film

Default Clip from short horror psychological thriller short film

This is a clip from a short horror film\psychological thriller film that I've just started to shoot.
    The link takes you to the clip on my Youtube channel, as I didn't choose to embed the code, hope this is ok.
    The reason I'm posting a clip rather than the complete short film is, as a self confessed newbie I'd rather have my mistakes pointed out to me at an early stage.
    I have plenty of questions to ask, especially about creating atmospheric lighting, at some point.
    There are a couple of blog posts about the technique of using blog posts in a short film on my www.fxfilms.net\blog film making blog.
    Feel free to delete the links if preferred.
    Any comments, criticisms, appreciated.

Blog Entries

My comments:

1) The writing needs to come on screen a lot faster. When testing this myself, I found that the viewer wants to read a lot faster than I can type. To get around this, I sped up the footage within the editing application.

2) Pausing on text for too long is just as frustrating as not having time to read it. Perhaps more so. I suggest you cut down the pauses considerably. People have very short attention spans.

3) It looks like you filmed the screen. I would suggest using screen capture instead. This will avoid flicker.

4) I would zoom in on the words as they are typed after having your initial full screen shot. Add variety to keep the user interested and drawn in. It also focuses attention and makes the words seem more important.

Blog Entries

I can only echo Marc's comments.

Let the words be typed on the screen, then whilst they're being typed, zoom in and pan or zoom in to highlight certain words. Depends whether you want a classic ciné style or a modern video/trailer style. But as it stands it's a bit pedestrian.