Thread: PD170 Advice...

Default PD170 Advice...

Hey guys...So I've had a PD170 for over a year now, I've shot with it a lot, mostly shoots at schools and corporate events for promo's and things which I edit together.

Mainly I'm an editor but I do advertise myself as cameraman too and I'd like to familiarise myself with the camera a little more...

I wonder if someone could talk through a basic step by step guide to setting up the PD170 for a particular shoot. I never know what order to set things up manually, is it iris first, with which zebra? then do i adjust shutter speed or keep that on auto? I just don't know....I'm relying on auto too much and I want to move on a little.

Any help, greatly appreciated!

Anyone? Anything???

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by alexw View Post
    ...I do advertise myself as cameraman too ...

Well, if you're selling yourself as a profesional cameraman, you should already have a clue about what your craft entails.

What you're asking is really basic stuff.

No, that's why I'm being honest here and trying to develop my skills.

I can shoot most things with some time and thought but this is the thing, it takes time and trial and error, for me to push forward as a true pro, I want to feel more confident in what I am doing.

I didn't listen at University but I'm willing to learn and listen now, that's why I joined these forums, to see if anyone can shed some light.

well. Let me say from the get go I am not a pro. I'm not even a very good amateur.

But what you are asking depends on many things.

What is the look you are after? How much light do you have on the subject? how much depth of field are you aiming for?