Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Does anyone use a Western Digital external hard disk?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default Does anyone use a Western Digital external hard disk?

    I bought a Western Digital external hard disk 6 months ago and I was using it as backup for my projects. Anyway, everything was working fine up until yesterday so I go to connect it up earlier tonight and not a peep. No noise, no light coming on, not being picked up by Windows, nothing. I've tried different USB cables and there is electricity coming out of the mains cable (stuck a phase tester into it and it lights up).

    It looks like it's bit the dust, thank you very much WD I really needed that. Has this happened to anyone else using this ehd or a different make or model? Did you get it fixed, did you have to send it off somewhere to get the data recovered? Do they charge by the megabyte?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    If the actual drive isn't fried, you can normally open up the casing and connect the drive in the same way you would a normal internal drive.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    Got it sorted this morning, the power supply died. I took it to a local computer shop and they tested it with a meter and could find no current flowing in it even though I was getting a light using a phase tester yesterday, very strange.

    They also upgraded the power supply to a more heavy duty version as the original was only outputting 500ma, the new one has 1amp. It saved me from having to send it off to a data recovery company. Just goes to show you how easy your work can get lost, so to repeat the old mantra, back up, back up and back up.

  4. Default

    I already pay a WD 1tb ( 2x500gb raid 0 mode ) whit a e-sata connector .... It was literally 2 hard disk in a cheap plastic box that could broke at any time.

    Im now whit Lacie, i have some verry nice 1tb one disk usb only ( i dont care its for back up not for real time edeting, so the transfer speed ... i dont really need it ) and it cost 125$

    Its the cheapest way that i found to make backup, 125$ 1 tb no *?#%@ raid mode that fail because its 1 - 1tb disk
    Television Technician
    - My Videos -
    Sorry for my bad english im french

Similar Threads

  1. Disk Space problem when capturing onto external hard drive through Final Cut
    By MKnight in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-30-2010, 07:09 PM
  2. hard disk camcorder or not???
    By confused&unsure in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-12-2008, 05:17 PM
  3. Hard Disk Crash
    By petter.smith0 in forum Pimp the Link
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-23-2008, 01:29 PM
  4. Western digital drives - avoid!
    By Mark W in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-12-2007, 03:11 PM
  5. New sony Hard Disk Cam
    By grewell912 in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-24-2006, 08:29 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •