Thread: Newvie help with field orders, AVCHD and downscaling to SD

1. Default Newvie help with field orders, AVCHD and downscaling to SD

HI guys,

I'm very new to the HD video editing lark so please bare with me. I'm using Video Studio X2 Pro

1) I have a Panasonic SD9 which captures in AVCHD. I have a monster spec PC to handle the editing but I am very confused about field order. In Video Studio there are 2 places you specify the field order (or frame based). One is in the project perperties and the second is when I output a file. Can anyone tell me what I should be doing in both these sections?

I have played about and get a 'combing' effect no matter what I do. When I import the files into video studio and look at their peroperties its showing as upper field first. So I set project properties to this and when I output using the share media tab (and go to create video file and then AVCHD 1080) i ensure its set to upper field first. When I play the resulting mpg file back on the computer it has that combing effect. If i selected the 'same as first clip' output setting it looks great! I dont think this is the way I should be going though.

1) While the HD footage is great for streaming to my PS3, i can't share this on standard DVD's. Can anyone tell me how to convert the HD video to a SD file so i can burn as you would a normal DVD?

Any help greatly apreciated!

Lee

Hi lee,