Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Advice on getting into Video Editing/Production

Exclamation Advice on getting into Video Editing/Production

I have had a passion for films since I was young, and I did a degree in film studies way back in 1999. Due to the job market where I live and other practical pressures, I wasn't able to look for work in film or video production and had to settle for generic office work.

Back then we were using 3 VHS machines and a clunky mixing desk to edit. Rollback of 3 or 4 frames was not uncommon, and it was a time-consuming task to get the smallest of edits just right.

During all this time I considered myself reasonably computer-savvy, and the ethos of "drag and drop" filtering over to almost all software packages is one that I recognise and understand.

In the meantime, obviously, video editing packages are now on computer, and from the small practice sessions on Adobe Premiere, I can see how easy certain elements have become.

I know editing, far more than the comprehension of editing software, is an understanding of form and pace, which I consider myself to have. The software and technical side is something I would have no problem learning.

At 36, hardly fresh out of college or anything else for that matter, would it be feasible to find work doing such stuff? I don't particularly want to be a wedding photographer, at least not if it entailed me shooting the footage myself, I prefer the post-production side of things.

Ideally, I'd like to work for a film or television company, and would be willing to travel a certain distance from where I live (Leicester) as I have a car.

Any ideas/suggestions as to how to further my path toward this goal would be greatly appreciated.

(Moderator, please move this post to whatever section you see fit)

Hi and welcome.
    Not too sure there's a whole heap of work in TV land. They're slashing budgets and even the established teams seem to be struggling.