Thread: Help a complete novice - music video question

Default Help a complete novice - music video question

Hello guys'n'gals!

I am a photography student and partially a professional photographer. I've recently gotten interested in directing and filming music videos and I hope to do it more and more in the future.

I've been given the opportunity to make a music video for this really cool girl rock band, and I had no option but to accept the task. The problem is that I will be doing all of it from scratch; Directing, filming AND editing.

Now, directing and filming shouldn't be an issue, it's the editing I'm worried about. As for now I have little to no experience of editing digital videos (I've only used Windows Movie Maker and Apple's iMovie).

I have access to Final Cut Pro (running on a MacPro) so I guess this would be the software of choice, not that I'd know what's best for this purpose. I've got limited time to get this done, which means that I can't spend months practising...

I'll be shooting with a Canon 5D mkII, and I've already figured out how to convert the files to more FCP friendly versions. Still, I'm completely lost when it comes to this software.

If anyone could direct me to a source with plenty of easily understandable step-by-step tutorials I'd greatly appreciate it. Also any tips, tricks and recommendations are welcome. I am an experienced computer user and I like to think I can handle a lot of different softwares, but video editing is as said a complete myster for me for now.

Any help and suggestions will be greatly appreciated!

Western Europe

Editing isn't a set of hard and fast rules, it's more about a feeling you get when listening to the music and think what shots would work best with the music. Listen to the music, the lyrics, the beat, the changes, the rises and the falls and write down what they suggest to you visually.