Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: New PC needed - any ideas?

  1. #1

    Default New PC needed - any ideas?

    Hi all!

    For making a promotional video for my uni I managed to negotiate a fee of a licence/copy of Avid Media Composer 3, which they eventually agreed to. I have a Canon XM-1 camera, which up to now I have used uni's edit suites to capture footage from and put together films. This is no longer available to me as I've finsihed uni (gutted, I loved being a student!)

    So I'm looking at buying a new PC (I'm about due a new one anyway) and obviously want one that will run Avid Media Composer comfortably, and with a Firewire connection so it won't have any problem connecting to my camera. I only have around £500 to £600 to spend, can anyone point me in the right direction?

    I've just had a quick look around and have found these: -

    The Dell Online Store: Build Your System

    (Dell Studio Core 2 Duo, 2.8GHz Processor, 3Gb Mem, 640Gb Hard Drive, Not sure about Firewire?)

    Packard Bell iMedia A5518uk Desktop PC and TFT Monitor from PC World - Cheap Packard Bell Desktop Computers and the latest Packard Bell Desktop PC deals.

    (Packard Bell iMedia, 2.30GHz (enough?), 4Gb Mem, 640Gb HD, 2 x Firewire Connections)

    Specifications for HP P6013 & HP 2009V Package | Comet

    (HP P6013, 2.40GHz, 4Gb Mem, 320Gb HD, 6 pin Firewire)

    Any advice, information or recommendations would be massively appreciated. Thanks for reading!

    Biggsyc7

  2. #2

    Default

    Id go with 4 gb ram especialy if you going to do HD.. The firewire isnt that big of a deal you can add one one.. The dell comps that I've seen are all Proprietary and any upgrades has to be bought from them.. Things might be diffrent now but dells used to hard to upgrade.. Just something to look out for
    Wil

    Software Used:
    TGV Edius 6, TGV ProCoder 3, DVD Lab Pro. 2

    http://www.youtube.com/user/ChapmanProduction

  3. #3

    Default

    Personally I would steer clear of Dell, where I live their servicing is now done off shore and you have to read the fine print on this aspects on any brand name system, Dell do have a nice build finish on the upside.

    If it's a video editing set up I would always build from scratch, and these days building a computer is so easy, and great way to save money.

    On Motherboards this one caught my eye of late, ASUS P5Q, as it has 8 SATA ports and a silicon image controller on board, great for a nifty raid set up.

    Also on board is eSATA (not sure if eSATA will last much longer) and Firewire bracket. On the downside it does not offer multi GPU support.
    I know nothing about youtube, even less about video
    http://www.youtube.com/user/leokimvideo

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ENGLAND!
    Posts
    774

    Default

    The Packard Bell looks nice, the HP is way overriced, could build it for a lot less, and the dell is average.

    Bujild a computer yourself. Much Much cheeper

  5. #5

    Default

    Thanks for your replies!

    Sounds like building from scratch is the way to go then. There's a couple of places in town that I know of that should be able to help me out, any chance anyone knows anywhere online (UK based) that would also be able to help me with this?

    Thanks again for you help..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ENGLAND!
    Posts
    774

    Default

    Novatech are very good and they have the best techincal support and sales support.

    Another on is ebuyer, they're also a little bit cheeper but i prefer novatech.

  7. #7

    Default

    You could also try these guys - www.xworksinteractive.com
    Harley
    Last edited by harleyriv; 06-07-2009 at 07:45 PM.

  8. #8

    Default

    Ok, me again, this is the first sytem I've put together (through PC Specialist)....

    Processor (CPU)
    Intel® Core™2 Duo E7400 (2.80GHz) 1066Hz FSB/3MB L2 Cache
    Memory (RAM)
    4GB CORSAIR XMS2 800MHz - LIFETIME WARRANTY! (2x2GB)
    Motherboard
    ASUS® P5N73-AM: DDR2, S-ATA II, 1 x PCI-E x16, 2 PCI, etc
    Operating System
    Genuine Windows Vista™ Home Premium 64 bit Edition + SP1, CD & Licence (£75)
    USB Options
    6 x USB 2.0 PORTS (4 REAR + 2 FRONT) AS STANDARD
    Memory - 1st Hard Disk
    250GB SERIAL ATA 3-Gb/s HARD DRIVE WITH 8MB CACHE (7,200rpm)
    2nd Hard Disk
    NONE
    RAID (HDD 1 & 2)
    NONE
    1st CD/DVD Drive
    22x DUAL LAYER LIGHTSCRIBE DVD WRITER ±R/±RW/RAM
    2nd CD/DVD Drive
    NONE
    Graphics Card
    Integrated NVIDIA® GeForce 7050 CineFX 3.0 Graphics
    2nd Graphics Card
    NONE
    Sound Card
    ONBOARD 8 CHANNEL (7.1) HIGH DEF AUDIO (AS STANDARD)
    Modem
    NONE, I WILL BE USING BROADBAND
    Network Facilities
    ONBOARD 10/100 LAN PORT
    Floppy Disk Drive
    NONE
    Memory Card Reader
    INTERNAL 52 IN 1 CARD READER (READS XD, MS, CF, SD, etc)
    Case
    STYLISH PIANO BLACK FUSION CASE + 2 FRONT USB
    Power Supply & Case Cooling
    350W Dual Rail PSU + 120mm Case Fan
    Processor Cooling
    STANDARD CPU COOLER
    Firewire & Video Editing
    3 Port IEEE 1394a Firewire PCI Card (£9)

    Any ideas on whether that system would run Avid MC3 smoothly? I've also got a few extra quid to spend on what's there, what parts would you recommend improving?

    Thanks again,

    Biggsyc7

  9. #9

    Default

    Personally I am not a fan of Windows Vista, especially in conjunction with a system designed for video editing. I have heard first hand of too many issues related to Vista.

    I would make sure as part of the agreement it has upgrade path to windows 7 as part of the deal, that is if it's all we are hoping for.

    In Windows 7 I am hoping for a operating system which is stable, has few driver issues, does not hog the CPU doing fancy windows tricks and is saying that welcome to Windows XP.

    Again I am displaying I am always 8 years behind the latest trends, sometimes the latest is not always the greatest.
    I know nothing about youtube, even less about video
    http://www.youtube.com/user/leokimvideo

  10. #10

    Default

    Thank you for your quick reply, really appreciate your help!

    I originally picked XP (Service Pack 3) but it said I might have difficulties running a 32 bit operating system on 4Gb RAM. Sounded odd to me, anyone had this problem?

    And thanks for the tip about Windows 7, I'll try and get that thrown into the deal. Other than that does everything else look ok?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Ideas?? What do I do?
    By Bubleeshaark in forum Pre Production
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-21-2009, 05:59 PM
  2. Ideas needed for script.
    By Mark W in forum Pre Production
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 03-19-2008, 12:10 PM
  3. any ideas how I can do this???
    By innocent_bystander in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-20-2006, 02:27 PM
  4. Any ideas
    By joker2005 in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-26-2005, 11:46 AM
  5. Quick ideas needed?
    By mamaluke in forum User Videos
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-28-2005, 10:14 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •