Thread: Some help please..

Default Some help please..

Hi there,

Im looking for a basic DV camera, i've been looking at the JVC GR-DC53 roughly around 279.

My pc is an athlon 2500, 512gb ram, 64mb voodoo card (quite an old card now) I have 2 HDs one thats quite old (20gb, nearly full of junk) and a newish one that i got for 69 which is 80gb.

Why i need the camera? I just want the camera to record some of the things i do!

I dont want to professional edit the videos, but i will wish to do some basic editing, i.e. delete a few frames, include music etc.

I will mostly be using the camera in an aircraft enviroment as im a private/commerical pilot, i want to record some aerobatic routines aswell as the odd scenery flight and some trips. I dont know how the propeller of the aircrafts that i fly will affect the camera.

Please note most of the aircraft i fly have 1 propellor with 2 blades with the propellor turning at around 2500RPM. Will this distort the camera in any way? or will the JVC capture it?

I'm a bit worried about the size of my HDs on the editing part, I hear some people say on these forums that id require 60GB plus? (is this for professional editing?)

Yous guys are probably the experts, so if the JVC GR-53 has a few problems, then please let me know!

Will.

MiniDV is genarally considered the best format to go for if any editing is to be performed. You'll capture your footage to your PC via firewqire with that camera so get your sefl a cheapc firewire card if you don't have any firewire ports on the PC. I'm not familiar with the particular camera and so I'm not in th eknow on any foibles it may or may not have. However, it is the right sort of spec.

You didn't mention any s/w for editing. I'm a fan of Adobe and so would recommend Premiere Elements, whcih will allow you to build a DVD of your movie as well as perform the edits you want and is very reasonably priced to the home market.