Thread: Best workflow using different formats?

Default Best workflow using different formats?

I am a newbie to Video editing so please forgive basic questions;
    I am putting together a Promo DVD for a music agent.
    This will consist of 4 chapters, each representing various genres of the bands she manages.
    The materials supplied consist of short movie clips in .mov, .wma, DVD (mpeg2) and Quicktime formats, as well as photos as .jpeg and .psd format. Also audio clips as .mp3 & .wav files.

Should I create seperate movies for each chapter in Vegas then export them to DVDA as sep clips or rather one long one to be cut up in DVDA?

I am using Vegas 8 and DVDA 4.5 to edit. I also have Ideal DVD to AVI converter. My output format will be PAL SG DVD.

What I need to know is what is the best workflow - do I take all the movie clips and run them through the DVD>AVI converter so I am working in just .AVI from within Vegas, or do I import them in their native formats? If this is the case, when I render to mpeg2 to transfer to DVDA, will it degrade the more compressed formats Ive used, ie .wma or quicktime?

Re the photos, do I use Photoshop to scale them down to the project size or let Vegas do that in rendering?

Any info on the most effecient way to get a good end result will be most appreciated!
    Last edited by ttrax; 05-23-2009 at 03:09 PM.

Blog Entries

I wouldnt bother with the html.

Blog Entries

Is better - lols.

Blog Entries

I dont think there is often a best way - my expirience of other editors, all non pro - is that everyone finds thier own way of working.

I tend to do everything in vegas.